Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Image: Steve Hart

Jockey Tommy Berry has dedicated his Wagga Wagga Gold Cup win on Abdon to his mate Tye Angland who had won the race 12 months earlier in the same colours belonging to Richard Pegum.

Angland won the 2018 Wagga Wagga Gold Cup on the Chris Waller-trained Life Less Ordinary but the multiple Group One-winning jockey, who hails from the Riverina area, suffered spinal injuries in a race fall in Hong Kong last November which have left him a quadriplegic.

Jockeys at this year’s two-day carnival in country NSW were vying for the inaugural Tye Angland Medal, presented to the leading rider at the carnival.

Berry guided the Waller-trained six-year-old gelding Abdon to victory in Friday’s feature, with the $3.30 favourite defeating High Opinion and Willi Willi who filled the minor placings in the 2000m Listed race.

“It’s extra special this year. Obviously Tye was riding in these colours last year,” Berry told Sky Racing.

Blaike McDougall won the feature race on Thursday’s program, the Wagga Town Plate on Ghostly, and was awarded the Tye Angland Medal.

Abdon settled back in the field in the Cup before working into the race to hit the front early in the home straight.

Abdon and High Opinion battled it out for much of the straight before the favourite edged clear late to score by half a length.

“I was a bit worried when they backed off the tempo mid-race but the horses that were three-wide in front of me started to make a move before the corner which took me into the race nicely,” Berry said.

“I got there a lot earlier than I expected and wanted to get there, but class prevailed.”

*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free List of the Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Champion mare Winx to be a mum

The owners of champion Winx are expected to confirm she is successfully in-foal to super sire I Am Invincible in...

Watch: Scary scenes as police open fire at stablehands

Races at Turffontein on Saturday night were delayed as scary scenes broke out across the racecourse after police opened fire...

Danny O’Brien vows to follow similar Melbourne Cup plan

Trainer Danny O’Brien will not be deviating too far from the successful Queensland winter campaign that landed him a Melbourne...

Darren Weir’s online betting to be investigated

Suspended trainer Darren Weir will face another investigation as Victoria Police and racing authorities have uncovered secret betting accounts in...

Four time G1 winner dies

Dual Doncaster Mile winner Sacred Falls has died at New Zealand’s Waikato Stud after a short illness. The Waikato Stud...

Racing Victoria bans Robbie Laing’s horses from racing

The training career of Robbie Laing is in limbo after a Racing Victoria move to reject nominations from his Cranbourne...

Syndication boss named in cryptocurrency fraud case

International racehorse syndicator Amer Abdulaziz Salman whose Phoenix Thoroughbreds interests extend to Australia, has been named in a New York...

Photographer hit by runaway horse

Watch: Photographer hit by runaway horse

A photographer has been taken to hospital after a horse broke through the running rail at an Irish meeting overnight....

Kingston Town Classic

The Kingston Town Classic is a Group One race held at Ascot Racecourse each year. The 1800m event is Held in December each year and...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.