Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Price Boosts, Racing Backups, Fluc Up!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Odds Boosts, Racing Offers, Massive MULTIS!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

The Spring Champion Stakes is an important Group 1 race that is held over a distance of 2000 metres.  This event is for three year old colts and geldings carrying 56.4 kilograms and fillies carrying 54.5 kilograms.  With $400,000 of prize money up for grabs, the Spring Champion Stakes has attracted quality horses since it began in 1971.

Special Offer: $500 FREE BET – Luxbet (Tabcorp owned)

Special Offer 2: $500 FREE BET – (Recommended Bookmaker)

The Spring Champion Stakes is held alongside other premier Group 1 races in October each year, such as the Epsom Handicap, the Flight Stakes, and The Metropolitan.  Originally a Principal Race, this event was promoted to a Group 1 race in 1979.  It also went through a name change in this year, with all races prior to 1979 raced in the autumn carnival as the Australasian Champion Stakes.

In an amazing piece of history, jockey R. Quinton managed to win this event 4 times with different horses between 1973 and 1985.  Some of the most notable winners of the Spring Champion Stakes include Sir Dapper, Stylish Century, Danewin, Tie The Knot, Dignity Dancer, and Savabeel in 2004.  The record time of 2 minutes and 0.4 seconds set by Dignity Dancer in 1998 remains unbroken to this day.

The 2011 edition of this race was won by Doctor Doom, who was able to hold on and win ahead of Darci Be Good in second and Sangster two lengths back in third.


2011 Spring Champion Stakes Result


1. Doctor Doom

2. Darci Be Good

3. Sangster

4. Ambidexter

5. Strike The Stars

6. Rekindled Alliance

7. Black Jag

8. King’s Pact

9. Godspeed


Past Results


Year     Winner                        Status              Distance


2011     Doctor Doom               Group 1            2000m

2010     Erewhon                       Group 1            2000m

2009     Monaco Consul                        Group 1            2000m

2008     Sousa                          Group 1            2000m

2007     Not Held                      Group 1            2000m

2006     Teranaba                      Group 1            2000m

2005     Hotel Grand                  Group 1            2000m

2004     Savabeel                      Group 1            2000m

2003     Niello                           Group 1            2000m

2002     Platinum Scissors         Group 1            2000m

2001     Viking Ruler                  Group 1            1800m

2000     Universal Prince            Group 1            2000m

1999     Fairway                        Group 1            2000m

1998     Dignity Dancer             Group 1            2000m

1997     Tie The Knot                 Group 1            2000m

1996     Magic Of Sydney         Group 1            2000m

1995     Nothin’ Leica Dane        Group 1            2000m

1994     Danewin                       Group 1            2000m

1993     Fraternity                      Group 1            2000m

1992     Coronation Day                        Group 1            2000m

1991     Kinjite                          Group 1            2000m

1990     St. Jude                       Group 1            2000m

1989     Stylish Century                         Group 1            2000m

1988     Sakana                        Group 1            2000m

1987     Beau Zam                    Group 1            2000m

1986     Imprimatur                    Group 1            2000m

1985     Easter                          Group 1            2000m

1984     Luck’s A Lottery           Group 1            2000m

1983     Sir Dapper                   Group 1            2100m

1982     Veloso                                     Group 1            2000m

1981     Best Western                Group 1            2000m

1980     Prince Majestic                         Group 1            2000m

1979     Kingston Town             Group 1            2000m

1978     Lefroy                          Principal race    2000m

1978     Just A Steal                 Principal race    2000m

1977     Sir Silver Lad                Principal race    2000m

1976     Cheyne Walk                Principal race    2000m

1975     Taras Bulba                  Principal race    2000m

1974     Asgard                                    Principal race    2000m

1973     Gold Brick                    Principal race    2000m

1972     Latin Knight                  Principal race    200m

1971     Gay Icarus                    Principal race    2000m



Featured News

Free List of the Best Racing Bets and Bonus Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Finche races into 2019 Melbourne Cup favouritism

A horse racing in the colours made famous by Frankel and Enable is now the equal Melbourne Cup favourite following...

Begood Toya Mother wins the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Begood Toya Mother has delivered on a long-range plan in the Group One Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes at Caulfield in...

Avilius too good in G1 George Main Stakes

Avilius has reaffirmed his status as one of the country’s premier weight-for-age stars and put himself back in the Cox...

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes results and replay – 2019

View the results and replay for the 2019 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes was raced at...

George Main Stakes results and replay – 2019

View the results and replay for the 2019 George Main Stakes (Optic White Stakes). The George Main Stakes (Optic White...

Brimham Rocks wins a spot in the Caulfield Cup

The Chris Waller-trained Brimham Rocks has earned a ticket into the Caulfield Cup with his first Australian victory in the...

Female jockey banned on drug charge

Queensland jockey Tiffani Brooker has been disqualified for nine months after a recent urine test showed traces of a number...

Mystic Journey’s trainer inundated with derogatory messages

Mystic Journey’s trainer Adam Trinder has spoken out about the derogatory calls, emails and text messages he has received after...

Taylor Swift scratched from Melbourne Cup day

International singing superstar Taylor Swift will no longer perform at Flemington on Melbourne Cup day following a change to her...

Failed drug test cover up rocks US horse racing

A cover up of a failed drug test has this morning rocked the US horse racing industry. The New York...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.