Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Price Boosts, Racing Backups, Fluc Up!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Odds Boosts, Racing Offers, Massive MULTIS!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Image: AAP
Champion jockey Damien Oliver has claimed a 10th Scobie Breasley Medal

Champion jockey Damien Oliver has claimed a 10th Scobie Breasley Medal for riding excellence in Victoria whiled Winx has been named Horse of the Year.

Finishing runner-up to Craig Williams in the Melbourne jockeys’ premiership, Oliver exacted revenge when voted the Scobie Breasley medallist for 2018-19.

Oliver polled 60 votes to defeat five-time winner Williams by eight with Mark Zahra in third place on 48.

The 2016 medallist Dwayne Dunn and Luke Nolen rounded out the top five announced at the Victorian Racing Awards in Melbourne on Saturday night.

Oliver won the inaugural Scobie Breasley Medal in 1996, following up with victories in 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2014, 2015 and 2018.

Four-time Cox Plate winner Winx was named Victorian Racehorse of the Year for the third consecutive year matching Black Caviar (2011,12,13).

The award recognises the best performer on Victorian racetracks during the season irrespective of where they are trained.

Polling 114 votes, Winx was a clear-cut winner from inaugural All-Star Mile winner Mystic Journey on 52.

The Fred Hoysted Medal, which recognises the most outstanding training performance on Victorian tracks was won for the first time by Chris Waller.

Sydney’s premier trainer was recognised for preparing Winx.

Mystic Journey’s trainer Adam Trinder was runner-up.

Matt Cumani won the Colin Alderson Award for a trainer under 40 years of age with less than seven seasons experience.

Shane Jackson won the Tommy Corrigan Medal, the jumps equivalent of the Scobie Breasley Medal.

Victorian Jockeys’ Association peer-voted awards were collected by Damian Lane who retained the title of Victoria’s Most Valuable Jockey, and apprentice Michael Poy as the Rising Star.

* Recognition of Victorian and Metropolitan Premiership winners

Linda Meech: Victoria’s leading jockey (139 wins)

Teo Nugent: Leading apprentice (86 wins)

Craig Williams: Metropolitan leading jockey (83 wins)

Michael Poy: Metropolitan leading apprentice (32 wins)

David and Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig – leading Victorian and Metropolitan trainers (158 and 64 wins respectively). Disqualified trainer Darren Weir was ruled ineligible.

Featured News

Free List of the Best Racing Bets and Bonus Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Horse Racing Big Bets – 21/9/2019

We take a look at the big bets the online bookmakers have taken on Saturday’s horse racing around the country...

Female jockey banned on drug charge

Queensland jockey Tiffani Brooker has been disqualified for nine months after a recent urine test showed traces of a number...

Mystic Journey’s trainer inundated with derogatory messages

Mystic Journey’s trainer Adam Trinder has spoken out about the derogatory calls, emails and text messages he has received after...

Watch: Is Pinatubo the Best 2YO ever seen?

Godolphin colt Pinatubo has produced an astonishing performance to land the Vincent O’Brien National Stakes at the Curragh by nine...

Stable lose a mate in Flemington death

Trainer Jason Warren has posted a heart felt message on Twitter regarding the death of Antah at Flemington on Saturday...

G1 winning jockey Nikita Beriman retires

G1 winning jockey Nikita Beriman has announced her retirement. The TAB National Jockeys Trust luncheon provided a significant revelation to...

Failed drug test cover up rocks US horse racing

A cover up of a failed drug test has this morning rocked the US horse racing industry. The New York...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.