Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Price Boosts, Racing Backups, Fluc Up!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Odds Boosts, Racing Offers, Massive MULTIS!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Image: Steve Hart
Last years Metropolitan Handicap winner Patrick Erin


2400m, $750,000, handicap


* First held in 1863 and won by Regno

* First held at Randwick in 1866 as the Great Metropolitan Stakes over two miles (3200m)

* From 2001 the race has been run at 2400m, following numerous changes to distance

* Upgraded to a Group One event in 1979 after previously being classified as a principal race

* Biggest Group One staying race in Sydney in spring and provides an important first step along the path to the Cups down south

* Trainer Gai Waterhouse had her first Group One winner with Te Akau Nick in 1992 and holds the record with eight Metropolitan winners, most recently with Glencadam Gold (2012)

* Among the earliest winners was the Ettienne de Mestre-trained Tim Whiffler (1867) who would be the first horse to claim the Metropolitan-Melbourne Cup double in the the same year. Not until Delta in 1951 could another horse complete the double but three others quickly followed – Dalray (1952), Straight Draw (1957) and Macdougal (1959)

* Junoob was disqualified after winning the 2014 edition

* Recent winners are Patrick Erin (2018), and two Irish-bred imports – Foundry (2017) and Sir John Hawkwood (2016)

* Foundry (2017), Seville (2013) and Tawqeet (2006), are the only Metropolitan winners since 2003 – to come off a non-NSW lead-up race


* Tim Whiffler (1867), The Barb (1868), Beau Vite (1940), Delta (1951), Dalray (1952), Redcraze (1956), Straight Draw (1957), Macdougal (1959), Analie (1973), Battle Heights (1976), Ming Dynasty (1978), Born To Be Queen (1986), Natski (1988), Te Akau Nick (1992), Electronic (1995), County Tyrone (2004), Railings (2005), Tawqeet (2006)


“I think four-year-old mares are well placed now that they’ve adjusted the weights. Last year the first five across the line were weighted between 50 and 51 kilos so that tells you it’s a good lightweights race” – Scarlet Dream’s trainer Mark Newnham

“Obviously you get a kick out of all your horses but if she happened to lob or run into the money, I’d get a big thrill” – Our Attention’s managing owner Jamie Lovett

“I’m chasing my first Metrop but I’ve got the right partner. She’s won eight. We have two excellent chances in Hush Writer and Stampede” – Gai Waterhouse’s training partner Adrian Bott

Featured News

Likely Caulfield Cup Field – 2019

The 2019 Caulfield Cup will be run this Saturday at Caulfield racecourse with $5m in prize money on offer for...

Blue Sapphire Stakes Field – 2019

View the final field and barriers for the 2019 Blue Sapphire Stakes. The Blue Sapphire Stakes will be run on...

Cox Plate, Melbourne Cup bet could net punter $586,300

A punter with the TAB is confident that they have identified the winners of two Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival features...

Mark Waugh takes swipe at racings lack of loyalty

Success breeds success, so they say. And so it is for Chris Waller’s rampant yard which stole every award and...

Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup contender sold at auction

Prominent racehorse owner Richard Pegum has secured a 25 per cent share in leading Caulfield and Melbourne Cups contender Mustajeer...

Peter V’landys wants Melbourne Cup date change

Racing NSW chief executive Peter V’landys thinks the Victoria Racing Club should change the date of the Melbourne Cup. V’Landys...

Caulfield Cup

The Caulfield Cup is always an amazing spectacle, with some of the best horses in the world battling it out...

The Everest

The Everest is Australia’s richest race as well as the richest turf race in the world. The race boasts a total...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Free List of the Best Racing Bets and Bonus Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.