Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Price Boosts, Racing Backups, Fluc Up!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Odds Boosts, Racing Offers, Massive MULTIS!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Image: Steve Hart
Last years Epsom Handicap winner Hartnell


$1 million 1600m handicap


* First Epsom Handicap event in 1863 won by Dundee

* Named after famous Epsom Downs racecourse in the South of England where Epsom Derby has been run since 1780

* The race has been run at 1600m since 1885 – following a short-lived decision to change to 1800m in 1879

* In 1987 11-year-old jockey Jim McHugh won the event with his second ever race ride

* The Lee Freedman-trained Super Impose won four straight ‘big miles’ in 1990 and 1991, including back-to-back Epsoms

* TJ Smith and daughter Gai Waterhouse are most successful trainers with seven Epsom wins apiece

* Chris Waller has won three of the past six editions with Winx (2015), He’s Your Man (2014), and Boban (2013)

* In 2011, Secret Admirer became first mare to win since La Neige in 1976 and four years later it was Winx

* Most recent winners have been Hartnell (2018), Happy Clapper (2017) and Hauraki (2016)


* Amounis (1926, 1928), Chatham (1932-33), Shannon (1945), Blue Legend (1946), Noholme (1959), Sky High (1961), Cabochon (1967), Gunsynd (1971), Triton (1972), Riverdale (1984), Super Impose (1990-91), Kinjite (1992), Filante (1996), Shogun Lodge (2000), Desert War (2004-05), Racing To Win (2006), Boban (2013), Winx (2015)


* Premium trainer Chris Waller has had three wins in the past and he’s hoping for another one this year with five runners: Unforgotten, Mantastic, Kolding, Le Juge, Star Of The Seas, and Kaonic

* James McDonald rode Hauraki to victory in 2016 and has a good chance this year on one of the favourites Te Akau Shark

* Early money favours Kolding who has drawn barrier 13, and is ridden by Glen Boss who has won on Captain Sonador (2010), Racing To Win (2006) and Shogun Lodge (2000)

* Godolphin’s head trainer James Cummings won last year with Hartnell and has two runners this year: Best Of Days and Cascadian. Godolphin also won with Hauraki in 2016


“We have every confidence in Robbie Dolan and we are just hoping for a clear passage” – Godolphin Australia boss Vin Cox on Cascadian

“He is the sort of horse who goes forward and is most consistent. He is going as well as he ever has and the plan has been for him to peak at the third start of his campaign,” Dreamforce’s trainer John Thompson

“He’s always shown he’s got very good ability, we’ve just been poking along from one step to another and all of a sudden you’re winning a Cameron and he’s come in through the back door into the Epsom” – Rock’s co-trainer Michael Hawkes

“I think Gem Song has a great chance. He’s drawn well and has a nice weight. He’ll back up well from Saturday’s race, so he’s right in it” – Gem Song’s trainer Kris Lees

*Head to the Promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Excl multis & quaddies. Applies to first racing bet (excl multis & quaddies) for existing customers only. Excl VIC & SA. Promotional T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 1800 858 858.
Featured News

$200,000 gamble on the Cox Plate

Connections have decided to pay the late entry fee of $200,000 to enter their horse Black Heart Bart into Saturday’s...

Likely Cox Plate Field – 2019

The 2019 Cox Plate will be run this Saturday at Moonee Valley racecourse with $5m in prize money on offer...

Avilius suffers bleed ahead of the 2019 Cox Plate

Triple Group One winner Avilius will undertake an enforced gallop in a bid to run in the Cox Plate after...

Melbourne Cup contender back on track after injury scare

Assistant trainer Sam Freedman says the stable has dodged a bullet with Steel Prince who will progress his Melbourne Cup...

Caulfield Cup winner suspended and fined $20,000

Damian Lane has been suspended and fined $20,000 following his win on Mer De Glace in the Caulfield Cup. Lane...

Mer De Glace wins Caulfield Cup for Japan

Japan has claimed a second Caulfield Cup victory in five years with Mer De Glace overcoming a slow start to...

Yes Yes Yes beats the older horses in The Everest

The youngest horse in the race has upstaged his older and more experienced rivals to win the $14 million Everest...

Caulfield Cup placegetters on target for Melbourne Cup

Trainer Danny O’Brien expects Caulfield Cup runner-up Vow And Declare to be much better suited at Flemington in the Melbourne...

Cox Plate, Melbourne Cup bet could net punter $586,300

A punter with the TAB is confident that they have identified the winners of two Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival features...

Cox Plate

The Cox Plate is a prestigious Group 1 race for three year old horses and above. Held under weight for...

Manikato Stakes

The Manikato Stakes is a Group l sprint race and is the one of the premier races of the Spring...

Geelong Cup

The Geelong Cup is a Group Three race held at Geelong Racecourse each year. The 2400m event is held in October each year and is...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Free List of the Best Racing Bets and Bonus Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.