• Get your first bet matched with a bonus bet up to $501!
Sign up here to claim your $501* Bonus
  • Sign up and deposit $400, start betting with $1000!
$600 bonus bet*
  • Get your first bet matched with a bonus bet up to $500!
$500 bonus bet*

The Stocks Stakes is a Group 2 race for mares four years old and over.  Taking place at Moonee Valley Racecourse, this 1600 metre event has a long and proud history in Australian racing.  Like many races held during this time of the Spring carnival, the Stocks Stakes is a good indicator of bigger races later in the season.

Special Offer: $500 Stocks Stakes Free Bet – Luxbet (Tabcorp owned)

Special Offer 2: $300 Stocks Stakes Free Bet – Bookmaker.com.au (Australian Owned)

The Stocks Stakes takes place on Saturday September 15, 2012, on the same day as the Group 2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes and the Group 3 McEwen Stakes.  Traditionally, this race is a good lead-up to races like the Group 2 Blazer Stakes at Flemington Racecourse and the Group 1 Myer Classic at Flemington on Victoria Derby day.

The Stocks Stakes has been run since 1973, with Mellition winning the inaugural race.  Initially a Principal Race, the Stocks Stakes changed to a Listed Race in 1979.  In 1993 this event graduated to a Group 3 event, which is the status it retained until 2005 when it became the Group 2 race that it is today.

Some of the well known horses that have won the Stocks Stakes include Sunday Joy in 2003, She’s Archie in 2004, Devil Moon in 2007, and Zarita in 2009.  The 2011 event was taken out by King’s Rose, followed by Pinker Pinker in second and Lady Lynette in third.

2011 WH Stocks Stakes Results

1. King’s Rose

2. Pinker Pinker

3. Lady Lynette

4. Southern Speed

5. Willow Creek

6. Absolutely

7. Zauberin

8. Midnight Martini

9. Avienus

10. Platinum Passion

11. Jalsah

12. Head North

13. Shylight


Past Results


Year     Winner                        Status              Distance


2011     King’s Rose                 Group 2            1600m

2010     Avienus                        Group 2            1600m

2009     Zarita                           Group 2            1600m

2008     Tuesday Joy                Group 2            1600m

2007     Devil Moon                  Group 2            1600m

2006     Astrodame                   Group 2            1600m

2005     Flowerdrum                  Group 2            1600m

2004     She’s Archie                 Group 3            1600m

2003     Sunday Joy                  Group 3            1600m

2002     Gold Lottey                  Group 3            1600m

2001     Lady Marion                 Group 3            1600m

2000     Hula Wonder                Group 3            1600m

1999     Sorrento                       Group 3            1600m

1998     Londolozi                     Group 3            1600m

1997     Sweet Delight               Group 3            1600m

1996     Arctic Scent                 Group 3            1600m

1995     The Penny                    Group 3            1600m

1994     Alcove                         Group 3            1600m

1993     Bon Precieux                Group 3            1600m

1992     Gatherneaux                 Listed               1600m

1991     Pacific                         Listed               1600m

1990     Natural Wonder                        Listed               1600m

1989     Top Dance                   Listed               1600m

1988     Hazy Pond                   Listed               1600m

1987     Gielgud’s Belle                         Listed               1600m

1986     Rompalong                  Listed               1600m

1985     Digger’s Lass               Listed               1600m

1984     Change The Tune          Listed               1600m

1983     Matternot                     Listed               1600m

1982     Fiery Pax                     Listed               1600m

1981     Countess Caboul          Listed               1600m

1980     Dondal                                    Listed               1600m

1979     Country Belle                Listed               1600m

1978     Bold Bridget                 Principal race    1600m

1977     not held

1976     Princess Veronica         Principal race    1600m

1975     Hot Cross                    Principal race    1600m

1974     Dowling Lass               Principal race    1600m

1973     Mellition                       Principal race    1600m



LadbrokesSportingbetSportsbetLuxbetBetEasyImage Map
* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article exclude NSW residents.
RSS Feed