Deposit $250, Bet with $550
Sign-up, deposit $250 & receive $300 in racing bonus bets. That's $550 to bet with!*
$300 Matched Deposit
Sign-up and get your first deposit matched with up to $300 in racing bonus bets*
Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Australia's BIGGEST and Best Bookmaker!
Sign-Up to Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Watch Sky Racing FREE!
Sign-Up and watch Sky Racing For Free on Your Phone!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

Some facts about the Group One $1 million Australian Cup (2000m) at Flemington on Saturday.

* First run in 1863 when won by Barwon.

* Between 1863 and 1942 run over 18 furlongs (3600m).

* From 1943-1962 run over 17 furlongs and 110 yards (3500m).

* In 1963 it was run over 14 furlongs (2800m) and since 1964 over 10 furlongs (2000m).

* Run at weight-for-age between 1979-1981 and since 1987; run as a handicap 1982-86.

* Has been won by some of the greats of the Australasian turf including Tim Whiffler (1867), Malua (1886), Welkin Prince (1962-63), Craftsman (1965-66), Gay Icarus (1971), Leilani (1975), Ming Dynasty (1978, 1980), Dulcify (1979), Hyperno (1981), Bonecrusher (1987), Vo Rogue (1989, 1990), Better Loosen Up (1991), Let’s Elope (1992), Veandercross (1993), Saintly (1996), Octagonal (1997), Dane Ripper (1998), Northerly (2001, 2003), Lonhro (2004), Makybe Diva (2005), Sirmione (2008), Zipping (2010), Shocking (2011).

* Most successful trainer: 13 Bart Cummings – Arctic Coast (1968), Gladman (1973), Leilani (1975), Lord Dudley (1976), Ngawyni (1977), Ming Dynasty (1978, 1980), Hyperno (1981), Noble Peer (1985), Let’s Elope (1992), Saintly (1996), Dane Ripper (1998), Sirmione (2008). Cummings will be represented by Illo and Precedence on Saturday.

* Most successful jockey: 8 Tom Hales – Lurline (1875), Richmond (1876), Savanaka (1879), Navigator (1883), Morpeth (1884), Trident (1887), Carlyon (1888), Dreadnought (1890).

* Other winning trainers with runners this year: David Hayes – Americain (Niconero 2009, Better Loosen Up 1991); Robert Hickmott – Efficient (Zipping 2010).

* Winning jockeys with rides this year: Craig Newitt – Efficient (Roman Arch 2006, Pompeii Ruler 2007); Craig Williams – Southern Speed (Niconero 2009).

* Makybe Diva set the Flemington 2000m record of 1:58.73 in 2005.


  • $300 BONUS at Neds Sign-up at Neds via this ad and Deposit $250 to get a $300 BONUS! HURRY! Offer ends this week!
  • BET NOW!
Featured News

Free List of the Best Racing Bets and Bonus Offers

Just Horse Racing provides readers with a Free list of the best Bonus Bet offers available at every online bookmaker...

Steel Prince races into the Melbourne Cup

The connections of Steel Prince have celebrated the gelding’s victory in The Andrew Ramsden as if they had just won...

Andrew Ramsden Stakes results and replay – 2019

View the results and replay for the 2019 Andrew Ramsden Stakes. The Andrew Ramsden Stakes was raced at Flemington racecourse...

Kingsford Smith Cup results and replay – 2019

View the results and replay for the 2019 Kingsford Smith Cup. The Kingsford Smith Cup was raced at Eagle Farm...

Potential staying star who was rejected by his mum

Yesterday at Gawler, a 3YO sprouted wings in the straight to race away and win like a horse going places....

Prominent horse owner Damion Flower arrested on drug charges

High-profile Australian racehorse owner Damion Flower will remain behind bars for at least a week after being charged over his...

Ben Currie guilty of another 12 charges

Toowoomba trainer Ben Currie has been found guilty of a further 12 charges, this time, of race day administration and...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.