Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Image: Darren Winningham
Master Jamie will have to carry the biggest weight to win on a Brisbane racetrack in 23 years

Rockhampton flyer Master Jamie will have to carry the biggest weight to win on a Brisbane racetrack in 23 years if he is to take the Mumm 3YO (1200m) at Eagle Farm.

Master Jamie quest for a 12th career win has been complicated by having to carry 63.5kgs on Saturday after trainer Graham Green opted to stick with senior rider Les Tilley instead of claiming.

“Bubba (Tilley) knows him well and Master Jamie isn’t a horse for a young rider,” Green explained.

“Master Jamie has come back well from a break after contracting Ross River fever. He carries weight well so I really don’t have any worry.”

If he is successful Master Jamie will carry the most weight to win in a Brisbane race since Group One performer Chief De Beers scored at Doomben with 64.5kgs in April 1997.

Several horses have won since in Brisbane with 63kgs but none with 63.5kgs.

The most weight carried to win a TAB race in Queensland was Oakleigh Plate winner Swiss Ace who dead heated with 68kgs in a Sunday class Caloundra Open in August 2009.

In pre-metric days Barallan set the Brisbane grass track winning weight record at 11st 5lbs (72kgs) in 1911.

The overall Brisbane record is held by Auction who carried 12st 6lbs (79kgs) on the now closed Albion Park sand track in 1942.

*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Te Akau Shark suffering from post surgery complications

Star New Zealand galloper Te Akau Shark remains in an equine hospital in Sydney after undergoing eye surgery. Te Akau...

Watch: Riderless horse claims run of the week

I’ve just watched all the replays from the weekend’s racing and well, I have to say this. Probably the best...

Black Caviar’s latest foal gets a name

Black Caviar’s latest foal has already been named by connections. The son of Black Caviar by leading stallion I Am...

Multiple G1 winner onto his sixth trainer

In a move that has angered some racing fans Group One winner Humidor will again be on the move to...

Watch: Punters in uproar over upheld protest

There was quite the hue and cry out of Hawkesbury yesterday when the stewards upheld a protest. The favourite at...

Watch: First starter at $101 wins like an odds on shot

Connections of a first starter at Donald on Saturday either don’t bet or they were unaware of the ability that...

Top Sydney trainer charged after G2 winner tests positive to ice

Top Sydney trainer John O’Shea has been charged by the Queensland Racing Integrity Commission after one of his horses tested...

Jockey in trouble over whip rule tweet

A tongue in cheek tweet about current whip rules has landed a Victorian jockey in trouble. Jockey Jamie Mott has...

Kiwi star suffering from rare eye condition

A rare eye condition that needs surgery will delay the return to training of two-time Group One winner Te Akau...

NZ jockey banned for life

A New Zealand jockey has been banned for life over charges relating to a conspiracy to harm another jockey during...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2020 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.