$600 in Bonus Bets
Get your first bet matched with up to $600 in racing bonuses*
$500 in Bonus Bets
Sign-up, Join now & get your first deposit matched with up to $500 in racing bonus bets*
Deposit $250, Bet with $550
Sign-up, deposit $250 & receive $300 in racing bonus bets. That's $550 to bet with!*
$300 Matched Deposit
Sign-up and get your first deposit matched with up to $300 in racing bonus bets*
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Image: Bruno Cannatelli
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

Lindsay Park stayer Ventura Storm is one of three runners attempting to win the weight-for-age Zipping Classic after running in the Melbourne Cup.

Yucatan, the beaten favourite, Ventura Storm and Who Shot Thebarman all ran in this year’s Cup and are among 16 entries for Saturday’s 2400m-Group Two race at Sandown.

Ventura Storm fared best of the trio in the Cup finishing 10th, just ahead of Yucatan who was 11th while Who Shot Thebarman finished 17th.

Saturday’s race was originally known as the Sandown Cup before being changed to weight-for-age and renamed the Sandown Classic in 1999.

It was again renamed in 2011 to recognise four-time winner, the Lloyd Williams-owned Zipping who won from 2007 to 2010.

Williams and his son Nick have five entries in this year’s Zipping – including Yucatan, Homesman, Midterm, Sir Isaac Newton and 2017 winner The Taj Mahal.

Tom Dabernig, co-trainer of Moonee Valley Gold Cup winner Ventura Storm, said the gelding had come through last week’s Melbourne Cup well with the stable believing he failed to runout the 3200 metres.

“He pulled up fine so we thought we’d give him another try before putting him out,” co-trainer Tom Dabernig said.

“Mark Zahra rode him well but he just didn’t stay the trip so we’ll keep him to 2400 metres maximum as of now.”

The Melbourne Cup has proven a good guide to the Zipping Classic.

Since Zipping won the first of his Sandown Classics in 2007, there have been seven winners to have their previous starts in the Melbourne Cup.

* Zipping Classic winners since 2007 and their finishing position in the Melbourne Cup

2007 Zipping – 4th to Efficient

2008 Zipping – 9th Viewed

2009 Zipping – did not start

2010 Zipping – 4th Americain

2011 Americain – 4th Dunadin

2012 Tanby – did not start

2013 Sertorius – did not start

2014 Au Revoir – 8th Protectionist

2015 Who Shot Thebarman – 11th Prince Of Penzance

2016 Beautiful Romance – 7th Almandin

2017 The Taj Mahal – did not start

Deposit $50, Bet with $250
Get $200 in Racing Bonus Bets when you join and deposit $50!*
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Featured News

Over $5,000 in Free Racing Bonus Bets

Just Horse Racing provides readers with a Free list of the best Bonus Bet offers available at every online bookmaker...

Barest of margins could cost punter $130,000

A punter with the TAB will be hoping Galaxy Raider gets beaten at Ascot on Saturday otherwise a photo finish...

Controversial horse makes a name for himself

An unheralded Australian racehorse who figured in a spring controversy because of his name may yet leave his own mark...

Winx used as distraction in doping scandal

Stablehand Greg Nelligan “foolishly” thought he would get away with giving a horse an illegal top-up when champion Winx was...

Mornington trainer banned over a dead filly

Mornington trainer Shane Bottomley has been suspended and fined over the disposal of a dead horse. Bottomley faced the Racing...

Bookies not risking Winx

After winning her fourth-straight Cox Plate last October, Winx will aim to extend another impressive feature race winning streak in...

Copyright © 2018 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.