$501 in Bonus Bets
Get your first bet matched with up to $501 in bonuses*
$500 Matched Deposit
Sign-up and get your first deposit matched with up to $500 in bonus bets*
Deposit $50, Bet with $200*
Sign-up, deposit $50 & receive $150 in Free Bonus Bets!*
Deposit $50, Bet with $200
Sign-up, deposit $50 & receive $150 in bonus bets. That's $200 to bet with!*
$500 in Bonus Bets
Get your first deposit matched with up to $500 in bonuses*
$502 in Bonus Bets
Get your first deposit matched with up to $502 in bonuses*
Deposit $100, Bet with $350
Sign-up, deposit $100 & receive $250 in bonus bets. That's $350 to bet with!*
$400 in Bonus Bets
Get your first deposit matched with up to $400 in bonuses*
$500 in Bonus Bets
Get your first deposit matched with up to $500 in bonuses*
$250 in Bonus Bets
Get your first deposit matched with up to $250 in bonuses*
$200 in Bonus Bets
Get your first deposit matched with up to $200 in bonuses*
* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article exclude NSW residents.

The Melbourne Cup dates back to 1861 in which the first winner was a horse named Archer. Although we will only be looking at the results for the past five years. If you wish to know the names of past winners please visit our Melbourne Cup past winners page.

The Melbourne Cup results come out directly after the big race, which is the richest handicap event in the world. The Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup is worth a total of $6.2 million, which is why it attracts such a high quality field of contenders every year. Once the race is run and completed at 3.00pm on the first Tuesday of November, the official results are released to the public.

After the Melbourne Cup has been run and punters have had time to come to grips with the results, most people will take a close look at the official Melbourne Cup record. The results cover a lot of ground, which is one of the reasons why past results are also studied in any serious study before the event.

The Melbourne Cup results cover:

  • Melbourne Cup winner – the first horse over the line.
  • Melbourne Cup Exacta – the first two horses over the line.
  • Melbourne Cup Quinella – the winner and runner-up in either order.
  • Melbourne Cup Trifecta – the first three placegetters.
  • Melbourne Cup First Four – the first four horses over the line.
  • Melbourne Cup Finishing Order – the official results for the entire field.
  • Melbourne Cup Scratchings – any horses who were scratched from the race.
  • Melbourne Cup Margin – the margin enjoyed by the winner.
  • Melbourne Cup Time – the official winning time.
2013 Melbourne Cup results:
Race 7 – 3:00PM Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200 METRES)
Of $6,000,000.1st $3,600,000, 2nd $900,000, 3rd $450,000, 4th $250,000, 5th $175,000, 6th $125,000, 7th $125,000, 8th $125,000, 9th $125,000, 10th $125,000 GROUP 1
Handicap, Minimum Weight 49kg, Apprentices cannot claim.Track Condition: Good 3 Time: 3:20.30 Last 600m: 0:35.56 INTERIM RESULTS
FinishNo.HorseTrainerJockeyMarginBar.WeightStarting Price
16FIORENTE (IRE)Gai WaterhouseDamien Oliver555kg$7F
23RED CADEAUX (GB)Ed DunlopGerald Mosse0.75L2356.5kg$61
315MOUNT ATHOS (IRE)Luca CumaniCraig Williams2.25L2254kg$13
419SIMENON (IRE)William MullinsRichard Hughes2.45L1253.5kg$20
58DANDINO (GB)Marco BottiRyan Moore3.45L454.5kg$10
610FAWKNERRobert HickmottNicholas Hall5.95L854.5kg$16
79ETHIOPIAPat CareyRhys McLeod6.95L1454.5kg$81
85BROWN PANTHER (GB)Tom DascombeRichard Kingscote7.25L655kg$20
913SUPER COOLMark KavanaghCorey Brown7.65L1354.5kg$41
1017VOLEUSE DE COEURS (IRE)Michael MoroneyJames McDonald7.95L2154kg$18
111DUNADEN (FR)Mikel DelzanglesJamie Spencer8.7L158.5kg$61
1212SEVILLE (GER)Robert HickmottHugh Bowman8.9L954.5kg$18
134SEA MOON (GB)Robert HickmottSteven Arnold9.4L756.5kg$11
1416ROYAL EMPIRE (IRE)Saeed Bin SuroorKerrin McEvoy10.4L1154kg$21
1511MOURAYAN (IRE)Robert HickmottBrenton Avdulla11.65L1954.5kg$151
1620IBICENCO (GER)Peter G MoodyLuke Nolen12.05L1753kg$71
177FORETELLER (GB)Chris WallerCraig Newitt12.8L1555kg$31
1814MASKED MARVEL (GB)Robert HickmottMichael Rodd14.05L254kg (cd 54.5kg)$41
1922DEAR DEMIClarry ConnersChris Munce14.8L1651kg$21
2018HAWKSPURChris WallerJim Cassidy19.05L1853.5kg$16
212GREEN MOON (IRE)Robert HickmottBrett Prebble44.05L1057.5kg$31
2223TRES BLUE (IRE)Gai WaterhouseTommy Berry54.05L2051kg$26
2324RUSCELLO (IRE)Ed WalkerChad Schofield (a)56.3L2450kg$51
FF21VEREMA (FR)Alain de Royer DupreC-P Lemaire353kg$17
  • Japan welcomes 2017 Emirates Melbourne Cup

    One of the world’s most coveted sporting trophies was on show in Japan today, with the 2017 Emirates Melbourne Cup the centrepiece of the Victoria Racing Club’s (VRC) racing and tourism engagement lunch in Tokyo. To coincide with the running of one of Japan’s biggest races, the Group 1 Tokyo… Read More »

  • Caulfield Cup winner ruled out of the Spring Carnival

    Last years Caulfield Cup winner Jameka has been ruled out of the 2017 Spring Racing Carnival due to illness which will require an extended break. Trainer Ciaron Maher took to twitter to announce that multiple G1 winner Jameka will not race during this years Spring Carnival in which she was… Read More »

  • Owners turn down huge offer for gelding

    Owners of Group 1 winning New Zealand gelding Gingernuts have turned down a massive offer of $3million dollars from a Hong Kong buyer in recent days. Gingernuts syndicate manager David Ellis purchased the galloper from the Karaka Ready to Run 2YO sale for $42,500 with the 3YO already amassing over… Read More »

  • Melbourne Cup hope to make local debut at Flemington

    An imported stayer David Hayes hopes will be a Melbourne Cup contender is set to get his first taste of Australian racing when he steps out at Flemington. Hayes, who now trains in partnership with his son Ben and nephew Tom Dabernig, has last year’s English St Leger runner-up Ventura… Read More »

  • Melbourne Cup hopeful wins in Germany

    Red Cardinal has confirmed he is back on a Melbourne Cup path with his win in the Group Two Oleander-Rennen at Hoppegarten in Germany. The five-year-old, owned by Australian Bloodstock and trained by Andreas Wohler, was slated to come for the Cup last year but could not fulfil his quarantine… Read More »

  • Melbourne Cup runner up dies

    Melbourne Cup runner-up Heartbreak City has had to be euthanised after breaking a leg during a racecourse gallop at The Curragh. Owned by a group of Irishmen, Heartbreak City earned his place in last year’s Melbourne Cup with victory in the rich Ebor Handicap. Darren Dance’s Australian Thoroughbred Bloodstock bought… Read More »


Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.