Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
Massive Odds on All Races!
Sign-up and start betting with PlayUp in 2 minutes!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

Melbourne Cup Jockeys

Over the years there have been some legendary jockeys who have won the Melbourne Cup and there have been many more who have never had the joy of winning Australia’s richest race.

Although the prize packet for winning the Melbourne Cup is substantial many jockeys see the victory as the prize itself with over 100,000 spectators to greet you as they make their way back to the winners circle.

Legendary jockey Damien Oliver has had the most recent success in the Melbourne Cup with 3 wins and 3 second places from 25 rides in the Cup. Glenn Boss however has the better strike rate with 3 wins and a 2nd placing from just 13 rides.

With a large field of potentially 24 horses the ride by each jockey becomes pivotal. Winning and losing can often come down to ride given by the jockey with many fancied runners over the years finding no luck in the running and ultimately costing them the race.

The Melbourne Cup not only attracts a host of international horses but international jockeys too. Champion Frenchman Gérald Mossé is the most successful of the internationals with a win on 2010 Melbourne Cup winner Americain.

Most Melbourne Cup Wins in History

4 – Bobby Lewis (1902, 1915, 1919, 1927)
4 – Harry White (1974, 1975, 1978, 1979)

Melbourne Cup Jockey Facts

There have been many historic moments in the Melbourne Cup and every winning jockey has written their name into the cups rich history. However there are some historic moments that stand above the rest.

The first female to ride a Melbourne Cup runner was Maree Lyndon who rode Argonaut Style in 1987. Claire Lindop became the first Australian women to ride a Melbourne Cup runner when she took the ride on Debben who finished unplaced in 2003. Michelle Payne made history in 2015 when she was the first female jockey to win the Melbourne Cup on the back of Prince of Penzance.

Frank Reys was the first Aboriginal to ride a Melbourne Cup winner. Reys rode Gala Supreme to victory in the 1973 Melbourne Cup.

Here’s a fact that might surprise you. The youngest jockey to ever win a Melbourne Cup was Peter St. Albans who took the honors on board Briseis in 1876. He was 12 years, 11 months and 23 days old at the time

Melbourne Cup winners by colour of silks

You don’t have to be a racing enthusiast to love having a bet on the Melbourne Cup. Each year thousands upon thousands bet on the Cup and many of those are omen bets.

Here are the statistics on the coloured silks the jockeys have worn when winning the Melbourne Cup.

Colour Wins
Blue 39
Black 25
Red and Maroon 19
Pink and Purple 13
Yellow and Gold 24
Grey and Silver 5
Green 7
Orange 5
White 14
Cream 1
Brown 2

Recent Melbourne Cup Winning Jockeys

Recent years have seen some historic moments when it comes to the winning jockeys. Glen Boss wrote his name in history when he won 3 consecutive Melbourne Cups on Makybe Diva.

The world renowned French jockey Gerald Mosse became a Melbourne Cup champion in 2010 with his win on Americain.

Year Winner Jockey
2021 Verry Elleegant James McDonald
2020 Twilight Payment Jye McNeil
2019 Vow And Declare Craig Williams
2018 Cross Counter Kerrin McEvoy
2017 Rekindling Corey Brown
2016 Almandin Kerrin McEvoy
2015 Prince Of Penzance Michelle Payne
2014 Protectionist Ryan Moore
2013 Fiorente Damian Oliver
2012 Green Moon Brett Pebble
2011 Dunaden Christophe-Patrice Lemaire
2010 Americain Gerald Mosse
2009 Shocking Corey Brown
2008 Viewed Blake Shinn
2007 Efficient Michael Rodd
2006 Delta Blues Yasunari Iwata
2005 Makybe Diva Glen Boss
2004 Makybe Diva Glen Boss
2003 Makybe Diva Glen Boss
2002 Media Puzzle Damien Oliver
2001 Ethereal Scott Seamer
2000 Brew Kerrin McEvoy
1999 Rogan Josh John Marshall

Melbourne Cup Jockey Weights

The Melbourne Cup is a handicapped event which ideally should give each runner an even chance of winning. However history tells us that lower weighted horses have clearly had the better luck.

54.5kgs: 8 Wins
52.5kgs: 7 Wins
53.5kgs: 6 Wins
52.5kgs: 6 Wins

Who are the jockeys in the Melbourne Cup 2022?

The jockeys for the Melbourne Cup 2022 will be known once the final field is released and published on our Melbourne Cup page.

Which jockey has the most Melbourne Cup wins?

Bobby Lewis (1902, 1915, 1919, 1927) and Harry White (1974, 1975, 1978, 1979) are tied for the most Melbourne Cup wins as a jockey with four wins apiece.


Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.
18+ Don't let the game play you. Stay in control. Gamble responsibly. Think! About your choices. Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit or