Only in America.
Maximum Security led from start to finish and crossed the line first in the 145th Kentucky Derby, then loses it in the stewards room.
— At The Races (@AtTheRaces) May 4, 2019
I am born and raised and cut my teeth on Aussie racing. And our rules in the stewards room are different. Clearly.
Because taking the race off that winner was about the most absurd ref’s decision in sport. Period!
For the record, yes the leader Maximum Security moved out and wobbled around the home turn.
He went three wide after being on the fence and that caused interference to two horses. But both those horses were done at the time.
The second, third and fourth across the line: Country House, Code Of Honour and Tacitus were NOT impeded.
In fact 3rd and 4th across the line actually got a leg up gaining runs. Sooooo, if no interference to the immediate placegetters, and only two tired horses copping it – how do they take the prize off the winner?
In Australia the winning jockey would have copped a fine and been suspended. But because he did not cause ANY interference to the immediate placegetters behind him he would NOT have lost the race in the room.
To rub insult into injury, the American decision DQ the horse altogether. Meaning he is placed last.
Again – stupid beyond words.
Like so many things about North American racing, that rule needs to change.
Maximum Security was the favourite. The new winner Country House was a 65/1 chance.
The actions of the stewards besmirched the race.
500% BONUS at TAB Sign-up at the TAB via this ad and Deposit $20 and start BETTING with $120! HURRY! Offer ends this week!