Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

The Bill Whittaker Book Award for 2020 goes to John H Payne for his ‘splendidly researched book’ Their Last Ride: The Fallen Jockeys of Australia.

“You deserve the congratulations from both myself and the judging panel,” stated R. L., Bob, Charley AO, the former Chairman of Australian Racing Hall of Fame.

“One of the most important features of your prodigious research is that you were able to add so many fallen jockeys to the hitherto established list.”

In acceptance John Payne stated “Their Last Ride was conceived some 10 years ago, following a visit to Caulfield, which revealed a monument to about 320 fallen jockeys. At which time I had recorded over 450, and the discrepancy disappointed me a little.”

“After 8-years of research, I came up with a staggering 938 jockeys who had given their lives to racing-related accidents, and found many discrepancies on the few monuments provided to them.”

“I still hold the view that too little had been done to record these lost lives. I was determined to do something about it and set out to record a little of their lives, not just their deaths.”

This correspondent relates to the entry of apprentice David Green following his fatal race fall in 1980, as I was then performing Assistant Starter duties at the Australian Jockey Club.

After riding Time to Fly to a brilliant victory for trainer, Dr Geoff Chapman, in the previous race, the Vain Welter Handicap, on Canterbury Guineas Day, Saturday, March 8th, apprentice jockey, David Green, was aboard Bold Rachel in the next and last event of the day, the Birthday Card Handicap.

With about 700 metres still to travel, the 19-y-o suffered severe head injuries after the mare fell, with young Green being struck on the head by one of her hooves while she struggled to rise.

The extremely popular and talented young rider, after being examined on course by the STC doctor, was rushed by ambulance to Westmead Hospital where he died the following Monday.

Hailing from 180 Hawker Street, Quirindi in NSW, Green was apprenticed to Theo Green, no relation, a master trainer of apprentice riders, who had tutored the likes of Ron Quinton, Syd Spinks, Darren Beadman, Malcolm Johnston and many other successful youngsters. Young Green was considered by many to be the equal of the best of them at that stage of his career.

His funeral was conducted in Quirindi on Friday, March 14th, his remains buried in the Lawn Portion of the Quirindi Cemetery.

The Bill Whittaker Book Award is awarded biannually for the best new book on Australian horse racing that ‘adds to the knowledge of Australian racing history, and is well written and well produced.’

Named in honour of prominent racing journalist and writer Bill Whittaker, 1929-2009, who as a racing historian loved writing on such champions as Bernborough, Tulloch and Kingston Town,

Bill named the mighty Tulloch the best of them all, and was an expert on Phar Lap with his observations and musings on the champion highly renowned.

Bill commenced his journalistic career in harness racing with the former racing paper The Newsletter, before going onto to be ‘trotting writer’ with The Daily Telegraph.

On moving to the Sydney Morning Herald in 1959 he covered both harness and thoroughbred racing, before writing exclusively for the ‘gallops,’ and recording the greats of his time.

Bill Whittaker was a friendly and helpful man, being exceptionally generous to any young writer or racing enthusiast who approached him.

Previous winners of the Bill Whittaker Book Award are –

2010    Keith Paterson for ‘The Master’s Touch’

2012    Jessica Owers for ‘Peter Pan’

2014    John Adams for ‘Over the Hurdles’ and Jessica Owers for ‘Shannon’ as joint winners

2016    Bob Charley for ‘Heroes & Champions’

2018    Ken Linnett for’Tulloch’

*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Magic Millions Classic results and replay – 2021

View the results and replay for the 2021 Magic Millions Classic. The Magic Millions Classic was raced at Gold Coast...

Magic Millions Guineas results and replay – 2021

View the results and replay for the 2021 Magic Millions Guineas. The Magic Millions Guineas was raced at Gold Coast...

Watch 📺 Another Rockhampton rocket unearthed

Back in October 2012, at Rockhampton over 1100m, a horse flew around the course in a Class 1 and bolted...

Horse Racing Big Bets – Saturday’s Races 16/1/2021

We take a look at the big bets the online bookmakers have taken on Saturday’s horse racing around the country...

Magic Millions Classic

The Magic Millions 2YO Classic is a Restricted Listed race held at in Queensland each year and is one of...

Magic Millions Guineas

The Magic Millions 3YO Guineas is a Restricted Listed race held at in Queensland each year and is one of...

Exciting stallion dies due to liver failure

Sadly 13-year-old Coolmore stallion Zoffany was euthanised today owing to liver failure. “Zoffany was a great servant and he’ll be...

Star Singapore sprinter headed for Australia

Star Singapore sprinter Inferno is set to make the move to Australia ahead of a possible racing career if he...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2021 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.
18+ Don't let the game play you. Stay in control. Gamble responsibly. Think! About your choices. Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit or