Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

The Group One $400,000 Flight Stakes (1600m) to be run at Randwick on Saturday.-

* First run in 1947 when won by Nizam’s Ring.

* For three-year-old fillies and named after the champion mare Flight whose major wins included the Cox Plate (twice), Mackinnon Stakes, Champagne Stakes, Adrian Knox Stakes and Craven Plate (twice).

* Notable gallopers to have won the race include Wenona Girl (1960), Reveille (1964), Cap d’Antibes (1974), Fiancee (1980), Bounding Away (1986), Research (1988), A Little Kiss (1989), Triscay (1990), Slight Chance (1992), Angst (1993), Assertive Lass (dead-heat 1996), Sunline (1998), Unworldly (2000), Ha Ha (2001), Lotteria (2004), Samantha Miss (2008), More Joyous (2009) and Secret Admirer (2010).

* The late TJ Smith is by far the most successful trainer with 12 winners – Jan’s Image (1962), Candy Floss (1966), Flying Gauntlet (1967), Flying Fable (1968), Natal Lass (1969), Better Gleam (1971), Siduri (1972), Jubilee Walk (1978), Snowing (1979), Gelsomino (1982), Bounding Away (1986) and A Little Kiss (1989).

* Smith’s daughter Gai Waterhouse has won the Flight Stakes seven times with Assertive Lass (dead-heat 1996), Danglissa (1999), Ha Ha (2001), Lotteria (2004), Fashions Afield (2005), Cheeky Choice (2006) and More Joyous (2009).

* The Flight Stakes is the final leg of the four-race Princess Series which has been won only twice, by Angst in 1993 and Samantha Miss in 2008.

* Victory Vein just failed to complete the clean sweep when second to Royal Purler in 2002 after earlier scoring in the Silver Shadow, Furious and Tea Rose Stakes while champion Sunline did not start in the first leg, the Silver Shadow, in 1998 but won the last three races.

* Trainers who have won the race with a runner on Saturday: Gai Waterhouse – Urban Groove (Assertive Lass -dead-heat 1996, Danglissa 1999, Ha Ha 2001, Lotteria 2004, Fashions Afield 2005, Cheeky Choice 2006, More Joyous 2009); David Payne – Chez Harmony (Unearthly 2003); Clarry Conners – Dear Demi (Research 1988, Pontal Lass 1995); Bart Cummings – Norzita, Duet (Cap d’Antibes 1974, Apollua 1976, Sun Sally 1977, Danarani 1994).

* Jockeys who have scored in the race with a ride on Saturday: Hugh Bowman – Norzita (Cheeky Choice 2006, Samantha Miss 2008, Streama 2011); Corey Brown – Gondokoro (Unearthly 2003); Nash Rawiller – Urban Groove (More Joyous 2009).

*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Queensland jockey banned for 4 years on drug charges

North Queensland jockey Mark Elliott has been disqualified for four years after his sixth positive random test to cannabis in...

22/2/2020 Horse Racing Tips and Best Bets – Caulfield, Blue Diamond Stakes day

One of the better racedays throughout the year at Caulfield is Blue Diamond Day and the 2020 rolls around this...

Victorian trainer hit with horse welfare charges

Victorian trainer Mark Sues has been charged with failing to provide proper and sufficient nutrition and appropriate veterinary treatment to...

Horse scratched because the owner thought it was dead

We have lost the big million dollar races at Warwick Farm this afternoon, but we have NOT lost high stakes...

Trainer charged over Melbourne Cup day stomach-tubing

Victorian trainer Richard Laming and two stablehands have been charged for stomach-tubing a horse on race day. Racing Victoria stewards...

Melbourne Cup winning trainer’s torture case moved

Melbourne Cup-winning trainer Darren Weir and others accused of torturing horses and corrupt betting have won a bid to move...

Bill Vlahos and his multi-million dollar lie

Bill Vlahos built an elaborate betting system for horse racing and it was a multi-million dollar lie. The Melbourne racing...

The Everest winner Yes Yes Yes retired

Star colt Yes Yes Yes has been retired with a tendon injury ending his career. The winner of the $14...

Talented sprinter suffers fatal fall at Randwick

Talented sprinter from the Gary Portelli yard Ronstar has sadly suffered a fatal fall at Randwick. Ronstar clipped heels near...

Danny Nikolic denied Queensland jockey’s licence

Controversial former jockey Danny Nikolic has lost his bid for a riding licence in Queensland. The Queensland Racing Integrity Commission...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2020 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.