Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Price Boosts, Racing Backups, Fluc Up!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Odds Boosts, Racing Offers, Massive MULTIS!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

The George Main Stakes is a Group 1 thoroughbred horse race held in Sydney each year. Hosted at the famous Randwick Racecourse, this great event is run under weight for age conditions over a distance of 1600 metres.

The George Main Stakes has a long history in Australian racing, and has been run every year since 1945. As one of the first Group 1 races in Sydney each season, the George Main Stakes is well regarded as a good form event for both the Sydney and Melbourne Spring Racing Carnivals.

[include file=”inpost_adrotator.php”]


The George Main Stakes is named after George Main, a much loved former chairman of the Australian Jockey Club. George Main lived in a grazing property west of Cootamundra in New South Wales, where he lived with his wife Mary and bred both racehorses and sheep.

The George Main Stakes has been run at Randwick since 1945, with Modulation winning the inaugural event.

A number of famous names have won and placed in this event over the years, including names like Shannon, Kingston Town, Lonhro, and More Joyous. This event has proven to be a great indicator race for some of the most prestigious Group 1 races in the country including the WS Cox Plate. Sunline came second in this event in 1999 before winning the Cox Plate, with Filante placing second in 1996 and 1997 before placing in the Cox Plate in the same years.

In recent times, winners of the George Main Stakes have included Adam in 2000, Viscount in 2001, Defier in 2002, Lonhro in 2003, Grand Armee in 2004, Mr Celebrity in 2005, Racing to Win in 2006, Mentality in 2008, Road to Rock in 2009, More Joyous in 2010, Sincero in 2011, and Shoot Out in 2012.

There was no George Main Stakes held in 2007 due to the Equine Influenza outbreak.

Featured News

Free List of the Best Racing Bets and Bonus Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Finche races into 2019 Melbourne Cup favouritism

A horse racing in the colours made famous by Frankel and Enable is now the equal Melbourne Cup favourite following...

Begood Toya Mother wins the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Begood Toya Mother has delivered on a long-range plan in the Group One Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes at Caulfield in...

Avilius too good in G1 George Main Stakes

Avilius has reaffirmed his status as one of the country’s premier weight-for-age stars and put himself back in the Cox...

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes results and replay – 2019

View the results and replay for the 2019 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes was raced at...

George Main Stakes results and replay – 2019

View the results and replay for the 2019 George Main Stakes (Optic White Stakes). The George Main Stakes (Optic White...

Brimham Rocks wins a spot in the Caulfield Cup

The Chris Waller-trained Brimham Rocks has earned a ticket into the Caulfield Cup with his first Australian victory in the...

Female jockey banned on drug charge

Queensland jockey Tiffani Brooker has been disqualified for nine months after a recent urine test showed traces of a number...

Mystic Journey’s trainer inundated with derogatory messages

Mystic Journey’s trainer Adam Trinder has spoken out about the derogatory calls, emails and text messages he has received after...

Taylor Swift scratched from Melbourne Cup day

International singing superstar Taylor Swift will no longer perform at Flemington on Melbourne Cup day following a change to her...

Failed drug test cover up rocks US horse racing

A cover up of a failed drug test has this morning rocked the US horse racing industry. The New York...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.