$501 in Bonus Bets
Get your first bet matched with up to $501 in bonuses*
Deposit $30, Bet with $180*
Sign-up, deposit $30 & receive $150 in Free Bonus Bets!*
$500 Matched Deposit
Sign-up and get your first deposit matched with up to $500 in bonus bets*
$600 in Bonus Bets
Sign-up, deposit $400 & receive $600 in Free Bonus Bets!*
Deposit $50, Bet with $200
Sign-up, deposit $50 & receive $150 in bonus bets. That's $200 to bet with!*
* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article exclude NSW residents.

Some facts about the Group One $3 million WS Cox Plate (2040m) at Moonee Valley on Saturday.

* First run in 1922 when the committee of the Moonee Valley Racing Club realised the need for a high-quality, weight-for-age race for the best horses.

* The winner of the first running was Violoncello.

* The race was named in honour of William Samuel Cox, the founder of Moonee Valley racecourse.

* Some greats of the Australasian turf are on the race’s honour roll including Manfred (1925), Heroic (1926), Amounis (1927), Nightmarch (1929), Phar Lap (1930-31), Chatham (1932, 1934), Ajax (1938), Tranquil Star (1942, 1944), Flight (1945-46), Carbon Copy (1948), Delta (1949), Hydrogen (1952-53), Rising Fast (1954), Redcraze (1957), Noholme (1959), Tulloch (1960), Aquanita (1962), Tobin Bronze (1966-67), Rajah Sahib (1968), Gunsynd (1972), Taj Rossi (1973), Surround (1976), Dulcify (1979), Kingston Town (1980-81-82), Strawberry Road (1983), Red Anchor (1984), Bonecrusher (1986), Rubiton (1987), Better Loosen Up (1990), Super Impose (1992), Octagonal (1995), Saintly (1996), Dane Ripper (1997), Might And Power (1998), Sunline (1999-2000), Northerly (2001-02), Fields of Omagh (2003, 2006), Makybe Diva (2005), El Segundo (2007), Maldivian (2008), So You Think (2009-10).

* Rising Fast (1954) is the only horse to win the Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup in the same year.

* Cox Plate-Melbourne Cup winners in the same year: Nightmarch (1929), Phar Lap (1930), Rising Fast (1954), Saintly (1996), Makybe Diva (2005).

* In 1998 Might And Power ran 2:03.54, the fastest time on the StrathAyr all-weather track which was installed before the 1995 race.

* Four-year-olds have the best record of any age group in the race winning on 26 occasions. Other age groups are three-year-olds (19), five-year-olds (22), six-year-olds (15) and seven-year-olds (6). Super Impose (1992) is the only eight-year-old to have won and Fields Of Omagh (2006) the only nine-year-old to win.
* Phar Lap won the race in 1930 and again in 1931 before heading to America.

* Phar Lap was the shortest-priced winner of the race, starting at 1-14 in 1931.

* Kingston Town is the only horse to win three times, in 1980-81-82. He was ridden by a different jockey on each occasion – Malcolm Johnston, Ron Quinton and Peter Cook.

* The late TJ Smith is the most successful trainer having won seven times with Redcraze (1957), Tulloch (1960), Gunsynd (1972), Kingston Town (1980-81-82) and Red Anchor (1984).

* The only three-year-old filly to win was Surround in 1976.

* Darby Munro is the most successful jockey, winning five times on Rogilla (1933), Young Idea (1937), Mosaic (1939), Beau Vite (1941) and Hydrogen (1952).

* Jockey Brent Thomson won the race four times in five years on Fury’s Order (1975), Family Of Man (1977), So Called (1978) and Dulcify (1979).

* There have been 18 odds-on favourites of which 12 have won.

* The biggest crowd was 50,670 in 1960 when Tulloch won.

* The only mares to win are Tranquil Star (1942, 1944), Flight (1945-1946), Dane Ripper (1997), Sunline (1999-2000) and Makybe Diva in 2005.

* In 1946, the Cox Plate was run in two divisions when the winners were Flight and Leonard.

* In 2000 Sunline equalled the biggest winning margin of seven lengths recorded by Dulcify in 1979.

* No trainer with a runner on Saturday has won the race before.

* Jockeys with a ride on Saturday who have won the race before: Steven King – Efficient (Fields Of Omagh 2003); Darren Beadman – Wall Street (Saintly 1996); Damien Oliver – Glass Harmonium (Northerly 2001, Dane Ripper 1997); Steven Arnold – Shamrocker (So You Think 2010); Craig Williams – Pinker Pinker (Fields Of Omagh 2006); Luke Nolen – King’s Rose (El Segundo 2007).


Deposit $50, Bet with $200
Sign-up, deposit $50 & receive $150 in bonus bets. That's $200 to bet with!*
  • DEPOSIT $30
    start betting
  • first deposit
    up to
  • DEPOSIT $50
    start betting
  • DEPOSIT $10
    start betting
* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article exclude NSW residents.
Featured News

Over $5,000 in Bonus Free Bets

Just Horse Racing provides readers with the best Free Bet offers available on every online bookmaker on the internet. We...

Cash Out costs punter $340,000

One Flemington punter will be kicking themselves after cashing out of a 5-leg multi that would have seen them take...

Rank outsider backed to win Golden Rose

Punters are looking away from the obvious when it comes to the Group l Golden Rose (1400m) at Rosehill this...

Strangles case causes trainer to quit

Queensland trainer Darren Bell says he has been forced to quit after racking up crippling debts when his stable was...

Jockey booking sparks Caulfield plunge

A key jockey booking is a reason why punters have launched into an in form mare in the Caulfield get...


Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.