Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

Some facts about the Group One $2.5 million Caulfield Cup (2400m) to be run on Saturday.

* First run in 1879 when won by Newminster, the Caulfield Cup is a handicap and 18 years younger than the Melbourne Cup which was first held in 1861.

* From 1879 to 1881 run in the autumn. Two Cups were run in 1881 with Blue Ribbon winning in the autumn and Master Avenal in the spring.

* From 1879 to 1881 run over one mile, two furlongs (2000m) and a “distance”.

* In the 1898 Cup won by Hymettus seven horses fell in the straight soon after the start.

* From 1940 to 1943 run at Flemington.

* Aborigine and Blue Book dead-heated for first in 1909.

* The first $1 million Cup was in 1996 when Arctic Scent was successful.

* Famous winners include: Oakleigh (1887), Poseidon (1906, 1907), Amounis (1930), Rogilla (1932), The Trump (1937), Skipton (1943), Rising Fast (1954, 1955), Redcraze (1956), Tulloch (1957), Even Stevens (1962), Galilee (1966), Tobin Bronze (1967), Big Philou (1969), Ming Dynasty (1977, 1980), Gurner’s Lane (1982), Let’s Elope (1991), Doriemus (1995), Might And Power (1997), Ethereal (2001), Northerly (2002), Mummify (2003), Elvstroem (2004) and Viewed (2009).

* Horses to complete the Caulfield-Melbourne Cups double in the same year: Poseidon (1906), The Trump (1937), Rivette (1939), Rising Fast (1954), Even Stevens (1962), Galilee (1966), Gurner’s Lane (1982), Let’s Elope (1991), Doriemus (1995), Might And Power (1997) and Ethereal (2001). Rising Fast would again win the Caulfield Cup in 1955 before running second to the Tommy Smith-trained Toparoa in the Melbourne Cup.

* Dual Caulfield Cup winners: Ming Dynasty (1977, 1980), Rising Fast (1954-55), Whittier (1922, 1925), Uncle Sam (1912, 1914,) Poseidon (1906-07), Hymettus (1898, 1901) and Paris (1892, 1894).

* Bart Cummings has won the Caulfield Cup a record seven times with Galilee (1966), Big Philou (1969), Leilani (1974), Ming Dynasty (1977, 1980), Let’s Elope (1991) and Viewed (2009). He will be represented by Precedence this year.

* Other trainers with a runner this year who have won the race in the past: Gai Waterhouse – Tullamore (Descarado 2010). John Hawkes won the 2005 Caulfield Cup with Railings. Now training in partnership with his sons Michael and Wayne, he will be represented by Niwot on Saturday.

* Damien Oliver won the Cup on Mannerism (1992), Paris Lane (1994), Doriemus (1995) and Sky Heights (1999) and is only one win behind the legendary Scobie Breasley’s record five wins. Oliver rides Manighar on Saturday.

* Other jockeys who have won the race before and have a ride on Saturday: Dwayne Dunn – Drunken Sailor (Tawqeet 2006); Nash Rawiller – Unusual Suspect (Elvstroem 2004); Kerrin McEvoy – Shootoff (All The Good 2008); Brad Rawiller – Absolutely (Viewed 2009).

* Shortest-priced winner: Tulloch (4-6 in 1957).

* Shortest-priced loser: Tobin Bronze (8-11 when sixth to Galilee in 1966).

* Longest-priced winner: Saint Warden (100-1 in 1943).


*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Blue Diamond Stakes results and replay – 2020

View the results and replay for the 2020 Blue Diamond Stakes. The Blue Diamond Stakes was raced at Caulfield racecourse...

Futurity Stakes results and replay – 2020

View the results and replay for the 2020 Futurity Stakes. The Futurity Stakes was raced at Caulfield racecourse on 22/2/2020....

Oakleigh Plate results and replay – 2020

View the results and replay for the 2020 Oakleigh Plate. The Oakleigh Plate was raced at Caulfield racecourse on 22/2/2020....

One of the worlds best ever racehorses and stallions dies

He was a super racehorse winning the Belmont Stakes and the Breeders Cup back when it was the richest race...

Queensland jockey banned for 4 years on drug charges

North Queensland jockey Mark Elliott has been disqualified for four years after his sixth positive random test to cannabis in...

Victorian trainer hit with horse welfare charges

Victorian trainer Mark Sues has been charged with failing to provide proper and sufficient nutrition and appropriate veterinary treatment to...

Horse scratched because the owner thought it was dead

We have lost the big million dollar races at Warwick Farm this afternoon, but we have NOT lost high stakes...

Trainer charged over Melbourne Cup day stomach-tubing

Victorian trainer Richard Laming and two stablehands have been charged for stomach-tubing a horse on race day. Racing Victoria stewards...

Melbourne Cup winning trainer’s torture case moved

Melbourne Cup-winning trainer Darren Weir and others accused of torturing horses and corrupt betting have won a bid to move...

Bill Vlahos and his multi-million dollar lie

Bill Vlahos built an elaborate betting system for horse racing and it was a multi-million dollar lie. The Melbourne racing...

The Everest winner Yes Yes Yes retired

Star colt Yes Yes Yes has been retired with a tendon injury ending his career. The winner of the $14...

Talented sprinter suffers fatal fall at Randwick

Talented sprinter from the Gary Portelli yard Ronstar has sadly suffered a fatal fall at Randwick. Ronstar clipped heels near...

Danny Nikolic denied Queensland jockey’s licence

Controversial former jockey Danny Nikolic has lost his bid for a riding licence in Queensland. The Queensland Racing Integrity Commission...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2020 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.