Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Image: Bruno Cannatelli
Chapada has received a 1.5kg weight penalty for the Melbourne Cup

Greg Carpenter, has today announced that he has issued a weight penalty to Chapada in the 2020 Melbourne Cup (3200m).

The Mike Moroney trained five-year-old won his way into this Saturday’s Caulfield Cup (2400m) with a win in the Herbert Power Stakes at the same track and distance.

Under the conditions of the Caulfield Cup, Chapada could not penalised for his Group 2 winat Caulfield last Saturday and will carry just 50.5kg.

Chapada can be penalised in the 2020 Melbourne Cup though, where he has today been handed an additional 1.5kg. The penalty sees him rise to 52kg and to 45th in the order of entry for the famous Flemington feature on 3 November.

Carpenter said: “Chapada ran very well when second in the Group 3 Naturalism over 2000m and then, when stepping out to 2400m on Saturday, he was very strong at the end of the Herbert Power defeating Zebrowski and Platinum Invador who have 52kg and 53kg respectively in the Melbourne Cup.

“Saturday’s Group 2 victory further enhanced Chapada’s excellent record at 2400m and beyond, which includes placings in the 2018 VRC Derby and 2019 Sandown Classic.

“The 1.5kg penalty is the same given to Shewan in 2011 and Shahwardi in 2012, both of whom did not contest the Melbourne Cup, and to Alcopop who won the race in 2009 and went on to run sixth in the Melbourne Cup.”

The last Herbert Power winner to win the Melbourne Cup was Rogan Josh in 1999, whilst Master O’Reilly in 2007 was the last to complete the Herbert Power-Caulfield Cup double.

*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Cox Plate results and replay – 2020

View the results and replay for the 2020 Cox Plate. The Cox Plate was raced at Moonee Valley racecourse on...

Bossy thinks Sir Dragonet can win the Melbourne Cup

So what happens now? Will Hughie Bowman, who was booked to ride SIR DRAGONET (Camelot-Sparrow) in the Gr 1 Cox...

Punter turns $60 racing multi into $282,861

After waiting for seven weeks, one TAB punter has celebrated today’s racing at Randwick and Caulfield after collecting $282,861.60 from...

Classique Legend lost to Hong Kong

In a bittersweet postscript to The Everest, Classique Legend’s owner Bon Ho has confirmed the horse will head overseas. While...

Verry Elleegant gives Chris Waller his first Caulfield Cup

Australia’s premier trainer Chris Waller and jockey Mark Zahra landed their first Caulfield Cup wins when outstanding five-year-old Verry Elleegant...

Watch 📺 Swooping magpie gets KO’d

At Doomben this afternoon one of the most bizarre things we have seen on the race track happened. A magpie...

Watch 📺 ‘Dickhead’ golfers in a near miss at Ellerslie

A pair of golfers have had been left red-faced after narrowly avoiding being trampled during the Great Northern Steeplechase (6400m)...

Champion mare Winx loses foal

Champion mare Winx has tragically lost her first foal, a filly by super sire I Am Invincible. Trainer Chris Waller...

Cox Plate

The Cox Plate is a prestigious Group 1 race for three year old horses and above. Held under weight for...

Manikato Stakes

The Manikato Stakes is a Group l sprint race and is the one of the premier races of the Spring...

Melbourne Cup

The Melbourne Cup always approaches fast, with the 2020 edition commencing at 3pm, Tuesday 3rd November. The race that stops...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2020 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.