Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

The elevation of Colin Hayes to Legend status and the induction of Chris WallerMalcolm JohnstonJohn Size and W.A. Smith to the Hall of Fame are highlights of the 2018 Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

Induction into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame is one of the racing industry’s highest honours, acknowledging equine and human heroes of the turf who have achieved greatness throughout their careers.

On Friday night at the Four Seasons Hotel in Sydney, Racing NSW will host the 2018 Australian Racing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at a star-studded event.

Esteemed trainer Colin Hayes, already a member of the Hall of Fame, will join the likes of Phar Lap, Bart Cummings and Tommy Smith in receiving the highest possible accolade as a Legend of the Hall of Fame. Hayes was the winner of 28 Adelaide and 13 Melbourne training premierships in an historic career that included a grand total of 5,333 wins.

Sydney’s champion trainer Chris Waller will also be inducted, having taken all before him winning seven successive Sydney premierships in emphatic style. Of course, Waller trains the world’s best racehorse Winx, a winner of her past 25 starts and a mare that has accumulated in excess of $16 million in prizemoney.

“To receive such an accolade and to be held in the esteemed company of recently inducted trainers such as Bart Cummings, Tommy Smith, Colin Hayes, Jack Denham, and the many other outstanding trainers past and present who have been inducted, all I can say is that I am truly humbled and honoured,” Mr Waller said.

Malcolm Johnston partnered the great Kingston Town to 25 of his 30 victories and was also Sydney’s champion jockey three times, the first when still an apprentice during 1975-76 and was runner-up on four occasions.

After starting out at Sydney’s Royal Randwick, Australian trainer John Size has gone on to be crowned champion Hong Kong trainer a total of nine times.

Only the Australian Racing Hall of Fame Legend, jockey-trainer George Moore, with 12 wins, has ever exceeded this.  Size currently holds the Hong Kong record for the most winners trained in single a season.

Also being inducted is William Arthur (Billy) Smith who had a 40-year career as a lightweight jockey, winning the Melbourne Jockey’s premiership in 1960-61 and the 1960 Melbourne Cup on Hi Jinx.

The full list of 2018 inductees follows:

Name Category
*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Watch 📺 Breathtaking debut by potential star ⭐️

Some people knew he had enormous talent but when he drew gate 15 for his first ever assignment, a few...

Isotope cleared for a Sydney autumn cameo

Extensive tests have cleared Isotope from any serious injury arising from her Magic Millions Guineas scare. Isotope clipped the heels...

Star 3YO suffers a career-threatening leg injury

Promising three-year-old Glenfiddich is out of the autumn carnival after suffering a career-threatening leg injury. Trainer Peter Moody confirmed the...

Corey Brown fighting for spinal surgery

Melbourne Cup winning jockey Corey Brown is waiting on a court hearing before he can hopefully be cleared to have...

Watch 📺 Another Rockhampton rocket unearthed

Back in October 2012, at Rockhampton over 1100m, a horse flew around the course in a Class 1 and bolted...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2021 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.
18+ Don't let the game play you. Stay in control. Gamble responsibly. Think! About your choices. Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit or