Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
Massive Odds on All Races!
Sign-up and start betting with PlayUp in 2 minutes!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

Melbourne Cup Trainers

The Melbourne Cup attracts world class trainers from all over the world, it’s no surprise with a $8,000,000 prize pool up for grabs.

There is no doubting the greatest Trainer in Melbourne Cup history is the legendary Bart Cummings. Cummings trained 12 Cup winners in his career, 7 more than his closest rival.

Cummings trained one of only 5 horses to win multiple Melbourne Cups with Think Big winning in both 1974 & 1975. His final victory came in 2008 with Viewed winning the Cup.

Notable women to train Melbourne Cup runners

It’s not just men who have tasted Melbourne Cup success as trainers with 3 women training winners in the feature event. In 1938 Mrs. A. McDonald won the Cup with her horse Catalogue however due to the rules at the time Mrs. McDonald was technically not allowed to be a registered trainer in Australia so the horse was under her husbands name.

Sheila Laxon and Gai Waterhouse are other notable women who have trained Melbourne Cup winners.

Most Melbourne Cup wins by a trainer

You could ask any ordinary Australian about the Melbourne Cup and most would be quick to associate Bart Cummings. They don’t call Bart the “King of the Cup” for no reason and his 12 Melbourne Cup wins eclipses all competitors with the next best trainer trailing by 7.

12 – Bart Cummings (1965, 1966, 1967, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1979, 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2008)
5 – Etienne de Mestre (1861, 1862, 1867, 1877, 1878)
5 – Lee Freedman (1989, 1992, 1995, 2004, 2005)

Melbourne Cup Trainer Records

Trainer Melbourne Cup Wins
12 Bart Cummings
5 Etienne De Mestre
5 Lee Freedman
4 John Tait
4 Walter Hickenbotham
4 Richard Bradfield
4 Jim Scobie
3 George Hanlon
3 Frank McGrath

Previous Melbourne Cup Winning Trainers

Recent years have seen a host of new Melbourne Cup trainers write their names into history.  Darren Weir won a historic Melbourne Cup in 2015 when Michelle Payne delivered $101 shot Prince Of Penzance his first Cup victory.

Other notable winners include Gai Waterhouse who famously won her first Melbourne Cup with Fiorente in 2013.

Bart Cummings won his final Melbourne Cup in 2008 with Viewed.

Year Winner Trainer
2021 Verry Elleegant Chris Waller
2020 Twilight Payment Joseph O’Brien
2019 Vow And Declare Danny O’Brien
2018 Cross Counter Charlie Appleby
2017 Rekindling Joseph O’Brien
2016 Almandin Robert Hickmott
2015 Prince Of Penzance Darren Weir
2014 Protectionist Andreas Wohler
2013 Fiorente Gai Waterhouse
2012 Green Moon Robert Hickmott
2011 Dunaden Michael Delzangles
2010 Americain Alain De Royer-Dupre
2009 Shocking Mark Kavanagh
2008 Viewed Bart Cummings
2007 Efficient Graeme Rogerson
2006 Delta Blues Katsuhiko Sumii
2005 Makybe Diva Lee Freedman
2004 Makybe Diva Lee Freedman
2003 Makybe Diva David Hall
2002 Media Puzzle Dermot K. Weld
2001 Ethereal Sheila Laxon
2000 Brew Mike Moroney
1999 Rogan Josh Bart Cummings

Which trainer has won the most Melbourne Cups?

Bart Cummings has the most Melbourne Cup wins with a total of 12 wins, more than twice the of the next best trainer (Etienne De Mestre with 5 wins).

How much does the winning Melbourne Cup trainer get?

The winning trainer of the Melbourne Cup will receive about $440,000 in prize money, this is 10% of the total winning prize for first place.


Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.
18+ Don't let the game play you. Stay in control. Gamble responsibly. Think! About your choices. Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit or