$600 in Bonus Bets
Get your first bet matched with up to $600 in bonuses*
$500 Matched Deposit
Sign-up, deposit $500 & receive $500 in bonus bets. That's $1000 to bet with!*
Deposit $250, Bet with $550
Sign-up, deposit $250 & receive $300 in bonus bets. That's $550 to bet with!*
500% Deposit Bonus
Sign-up, deposit $20 & receive $100 in bonus bets. That's $120 to bet with!*
$500 Matched Deposit
Sign-up and get your first deposit matched with up to $500 in bonus bets*
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

The Melbourne Cup attracts more betting turnover than any other horse racing event in Australia each year. Although in recent years betting turnover has been down by around 14 percent, this may be due to the global financial crisis.

Melbourne Cup 2018 Odds

1. Yucatan
2. Magic Circle
3. Cross Counter
4. Latrobe
5. Avilius
6. Withhold
7. The Cliffsofmoher
8. Muntahaa
9. Sound Check
10. Chestnut Coat
11. Youngstar
12. Rostropovich
13. Marmelo
14. Count Octave
15. Ace High
16. A Prince Of Arran
17. Tosen Basil
18. Kings Will Dream
19. Idaho
20. Red Verdon
21. Best Solution
22. Yogi
23. Finche
24. Duretto
25. Red Cardinal
26. The Taj Mahal
27. Big Duke
28. Jaameh
29. Homesman
30. Vengeur Masque
31. Nakeeta
32. Ventura Storm
33. Who Shot Thebarman
34. Our Venice Beach
35. Rising Red
36. Brimham Rocks
37. Emotionless
38. Jon Snow
39. Gallic Chieftain
40. Wall Of Fire
41. Patrick Erin
42. High Bridge
43. Thinkin' Big
44. Midterm
45. Vin De Dance
46. Night's Watch
47. One Foot In Heaven
48. Miss Admiration
49. Sir Charles Road
50. Humidor

Turnover on the Melbourne Cup alone can be in the vicinityย of $100million dollars across all betting companies. The Melbourne Cup is accustom to paying big dividends for punters due to the large open field. View our Melbourne Cup odds page for more information on dividends and past winners odds.

We recommend if you are betting on the Melbourne Cup you use Sportsbet, Ladbrokes or CrownBet. These three bookmakers we have found pay the biggest dividends on the race.

Betting types:

There are five main betting options that casual and regular punters will bet when betting on the Melbourne Cup we list these below:

Win Bet:

A win bet is a straight out bet on a runner in the Melbourne Cup to win the race. If the horse does not win the race then the bet is then lost and no money can be collected. Win bets pay more than place bets but only pay for first position in the race.

Place Bet:

A place bet is for a horse to run in the first three positions in the Melbourne Cup. A place bet usually pays one quarter of the odds of a win bet. Place betting on the Melbourne Cup is hugely popular for casual punters as the odds of collecting are much higher than that of a straight out win bet.

Each-Way Bet:

You will often hear people talking about backing a horse ‘each-way’. This terminology means they have bet on a horse to win or place in a race. If you place a $5 each way bet on a horse in the Melbourne Cup it will cost you $10 as you have in fact place $5 on the horse to win and $5 on the horse to place.

Example: If you placed a $10 each way bet on Makybe Diva who was paying $6 to win and $2.15 to place. If Makybe Diva wins you will collect 10 x 6 + 10 x 2.15 equalling $81.50. If Makybe Diva places you will receive 10 x 2.15 only equalling $21.50.

Quinella Bet:

A quinella bet is a bet placed on who you think will win and run second in the race. It does not matter in what order the two runners come in you will still receive the dividend. Quinella betting is the simplest of the multiple betting types on the Melbourne Cup.

Trifecta Bet:

The most common multiples bet on the Melbourne Cup is a Trifecta Bet. A trifecta bet is a bet placed on who you think will run in the first three positions of the race. A Trifecta bet is much harder to win on although the dividends are much better than that of a quinella bet. A trifecta can be placed for as little as 50cents and can be made as a Boxed bet (horses can run in any order) or a straight out trifecta (horses must run in picked order).

Copyright © 2018 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.