Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Price Boosts, Racing Backups, Fluc Up!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Odds Boosts, Racing Offers, Massive MULTIS!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

The Moonga Stakes is a Group 3 race run over a distance of 1400 metres.  Held under set weight conditions with penalties, the Moonga Stakes is contested by horses four years old and above.  As one of many races held on the same day as the Caulfield Cup, this event attracts a lot of attention from punters.

Special Offer: $500 FREE BET – Luxbet (Tabcorp owned)

Special Offer 2: $300 FREE BET – (Australian Owned)

Special Offer 3: $500 FREE BET – (Recommended Bookmaker)

2011 Moonga Stakes Result

The Moonga Stakes is a relatively new event on the spring racing circuit, starting out in 1988.  The race suits horses who are handy gallopers, and can be  a good form guide for events later in the season.  The Moonga Stakes was a Listed race until 1993, when it was upgraded to a Group 3 event.

This event has been known by a few different names over its short history, including the VATC Richard Ellis Plate, the VATC Spring Stakes, the VATC Jupiter Casino Stakes, the VATC The Myer Stakes, the VATC IGA Tablerite Stakes, the VATC IGA Supermarket Stakes, the MRC Melbourne Racing Club Stakes, and the MRC Jayco Cup.

In fact, this race only became the Moonga Stakes recently in 2009, with Mcclintock winning the event this year.  Some winners of this race have gone on to bigger and better things, including Assertive Lad in 2002, Flavour in 2001, and Rough Habit in 1992.  The 2011 race was won by Love Conquers All, with  Albert The Fat in second and Pinwheel in third.

1. Love Conquers All
2. Albert The Fat
3. Pinwheel
4. Amaethon
5. Hurtle Myrtle
6. Launay
7. Utah Saints
8. Phelan Ready
9. Rothera
10. Budriguez
11. Varenna Miss
12. Danzylum

Past Results

Year     Winner                        Race Name That Year                          Status              Distance

2011     Love Conquers All        MRC Moonga Stakes                           Group 3            1400m
2010     Rothera                        MRC Moonga Stakes                           Group 3            1400m
2009     Mcclintock                   MRC Moonga Stakes                           Group 3            1400m
2008     Royal Discretion           MRC Jayco Cup                                   Group 3            1400m
2007     Lord Of The Dance       MRC Jayco Cup                                   Group 3                       1400m
2006     Perfectly Ready            MRC Melbourne Racing Club Stakes     Group 3            1400m
2005     Volitant                        MRC Melbourne Racing Club Stakes     Group 3            1400m
2004     Amtrak                          MRC Melbourne Racing Club Stakes     Group 3            1400m
2003     Thorn Park                   MRC Melbourne Racing Club Stakes     Group 3            1400m
2002     Assertive Lad               MRC Melbourne Racing Club Stakes     Group 3            1400m
2001     Flavour                         VATC Melbourne Racing Club Stakes    Group 3            1400m
2000     Cellar                           VATC Ansett Australia Stakes               Group 3            1400m
1999     Another Neptune           VATC IGA Supermarket Stakes                         Group 3            1400m
1998     Buster Jones                VATC IGA Supermarket Stakes                         Group 3            1400m
1997     Monet’s Cove               VATC IGA Tablerite Stakes                   Group 3            1400m
1996     Mamzelle Pedrille          VATC Richard Ellis Stakes                    Group 3            1400m
1995     Royal Blue                   VATC Richard Ellis Stakes                    Group 3            1400m
1994     Star Dancer                  VATC The Myer Stakes                                    Group 3            1400m
1993     Cogitate                       VATC The Myer Stakes                                    Listed               1400m
1992     Rough Habit                 VATC The Myer Stakes                                     Listed               1400m
1991     Steineck                       VATC Jupiter Casino Stakes                 Listed               1400m
1990     Royal Pay                    VATC Spring Stakes                            Listed               1200m
1989     Heavenly View              VATC Richard Ellis Plate                      Listed               1400m
1988     Vo Rogue                    VATC Richard Ellis Plate                      Listed               1400

*Head to the Promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Applies to 1st racing bet at Neds, Ladbrokes and 2nd racing bet at Palmerbet for existing customers only. Excl VIC & SA. Excl multis & quaddies. Promotional T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 1800 858 858.
Featured News

Melbourne Cup runner-up retired to stud

The curtain has come down on Marmelo’s racing career, with the respected stayer retired to stand at stud in France...

Dame Giselle to be set on a Golden Slipper path

Juvenile Dame Giselle has all but booked her spot in the Golden Slipper with an explosive performance in the $1...

Luckless Melbourne Cup horse sold

The luckless Melbourne Cup runner Il Paradiso will remain in Australia after local interests bought a majority share in the...

Racing punter lands $34,992/1 multi bet

A punter with the TAB has enjoyed a terrific afternoon after the win of Miami Bound in the Kennedy Oaks...

16/11/2019 Horse Racing Tips and Best Bets – Sandown, Zipping Classic day

A strong ten race card has been assembled for Sandown this Saturday where it is Zipping Classic Day. The weather...

16/11/2019 Horse Racing Tips and Best Bets – Newcastle, The Hunter day

The introduction of the $1 Million The Hunter (1300m) at Newcastle will ensure that this stand alone Saturday meeting this...

Zipping Classic

The is a race held at in Victoria each year. The () boasts a total prize pool of and is...

The Hunter

The Hunter is a new race introduced by Racing NSW which will be raced at Newcastle at the end of...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Free List of the Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.