Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Price Boosts, Racing Backups, Fluc Up!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Odds Boosts, Racing Offers, Massive MULTIS!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

– The George Main Stakes was originally held over a distance of 8 furlongs, with the inaugural event taking place in 1945.

[include file=”inpost_adrotator.php”]

– This event has proven to be a good indicator for the WS Cox Plate, with Sunline winning the George Main Stakes before going on to win the Cox Plate in 1999 and Filante coming second in both events in 1996 and 1997. In 2002, Defier won the George Main Stakes before coming second in the Cox Plate.

– The majority of winners have been Male horses, with 2010 winner More Joyous the first mare to win the George Main Stakes since Ma Chiquita in 1986.

– In one interesting fact, the race favourite has won this event three times during the last five years; with Sincero winning in 2011, More Joyous in 2010, and Racing to Win in 2006.

– The George Main Stakes was named after George Main, former chairman of the Australian Jockey Club.

– The best indicator events for the George Main Stakes are the Warwick Stakes, Tramway Quality, Theo Marks, and Chelmsford Stakes, although horses may also come from a number of other events.

– Four horses have managed to win more than one George Main Stakes; Shannon in 1946-47, Count Radiant in 1964-65, Regal Rhythm in 1967-68, and Kingston Town in 1981-82.

– The record time for this event was posted by Racing to Win in 2006, who lived up to his name by coming home with a time of 1:33.75.

[include file=”inpost_adrotator.php”]

– The late trainer TJ Smith is the most successful trainer in the history of this event, winning an amazing eleven times during his illustrious career.

– In recent times, Gai Waterhouse has won the George Main Stakes on three occasions.

Featured News

Free List of the Best Racing Bets and Bonus Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Stewards overturn photo finish result

Queensland Racing Stewards have overturned the result of a photo finish at Yeppoon from July. The QRIC stewards have overturned...

Mystic Journey’s trainer inundated with derogatory messages

Mystic Journey’s trainer Adam Trinder has spoken out about the derogatory calls, emails and text messages he has received after...

Watch: Is Pinatubo the Best 2YO ever seen?

Godolphin colt Pinatubo has produced an astonishing performance to land the Vincent O’Brien National Stakes at the Curragh by nine...

Stable lose a mate in Flemington death

Trainer Jason Warren has posted a heart felt message on Twitter regarding the death of Antah at Flemington on Saturday...

G1 winning jockey Nikita Beriman retires

G1 winning jockey Nikita Beriman has announced her retirement. The TAB National Jockeys Trust luncheon provided a significant revelation to...

Failed drug test cover up rocks US horse racing

A cover up of a failed drug test has this morning rocked the US horse racing industry. The New York...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.