• Get your first bet matched with a bonus bet up to $501!
Sign up here to claim your $501* Bonus
  • Sign up and deposit $400, start betting with $1000!
$600 bonus bet*
  • Get your first bet matched with a bonus bet up to $500!
$500 bonus bet*

Some facts about the Group One $1 million Caulfield Guineas (1600m) for three-year-olds on Saturday.

* First run in 1881 when won by Wheatear.

* Run at Flemington from 1940-43 inclusive.

* Past notable winners include Patrobas (1915), Artilleryman (1919), Heroic (1924), Ajax (1937), Hydrogen (1951), Tulloch (1957), Wiggle (1958), Time And Tide (1963), Storm Queen (1966), Vain (1969), Dual Choice (1970), Luskin Star (1977), Manikato (1978), Grosvenor (1982), Red Anchor (1984), Mahogany (1993), Redoute’s Choice (1999), Show A Heart (2000), Lonhro (2001), God’s Own (2005), Weekend Hussler (2007), Whobegotyou (2008), Starspangledbanner (2009).

* Helenus in 2002 was the last horse to win the Caulfield Guineas-Victoria Derby double. Other horses to achieve the feat in modern times include Mahogany, Red Anchor, Grosvenor and Sovereign Red.

* Our Poetic Prince was first past the post in 1987 but relegated to second after a successful protest by Brent Thomson aboard 66-1 chance Marwong.

* In 2000 Skalato was first past the post but later disqualified after returning a positive swab.

* The last horse to complete the Caulfield Guineas-Cox Plate double in the same year was Red Anchor in 1984. He also won the Victoria Derby that spring.

* Abaridy in 1986 scored at 250-1.

* Guineas-winning jockeys with rides this year: Luke Nolen – Huegill (Anacheeva 2010, Wonderful World 2006); Danny Nikolic – General Offer (Starspangledbanner 2009).

* Trainers with a win in the race and a runner on Saturday: Rick Hore-Lacy – Chase The Rainbow (Redoute’s Choice 1999); Peter Moody – Huegill (Anacheeva 2010).

LadbrokesSportingbetSportsbetLuxbetBetEasyImage Map
* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article exclude NSW residents.
RSS Feed