Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Back A Winner with Neds!
Sign-up and start betting with Neds in 2 minutes!
Daily Racing Specials!
Sign-up and bet with Australia's best new bookmaker!
#1 Ranked New Bookie
Sign-up and bet with Australia's #1 ranked new bookmaker!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
Massive Odds on All Races!
Sign-up and start betting with PlayUp in 2 minutes!
Imagine what you could be buying instead.
Set a deposit limit.

The Cox Plate is a weight for age event for horses three years old and over. This prestigious race is contested over a distance of 2040 metres, and has been won by some of the most famous horses in Australian racing. Reading the past winners list for the Cox Plate is like a who’s who of quality Australian horses, stretching back to the first event in 1922.

The first winner of the Cox Plate was Violencello, who took home the grand prize of 1000 pounds. At this time, the Cox Plate was a Principal Race, graduating to a Group 1 event in 1979. Dulcify won the first ever Group 1 edition of the Cox Plate, which is often called ‘the greatest two minutes in sport’.

There have been a number of other famous winners of this special horse race, including names like Phar Lap, Kingston Town, Rising Fast, Dulcify, Gunsynd, Super Impose, Octagonal, Might and Power, and Sunline who won a double-header back in 1999 and 2000.

Rising Fast is especially notable, managing to win the Melbourne Cup and Caulfield Cup the same year as winning the Cox Plate. However, it is Kingston Town who is often admired as the best Cox Plate winner, being victor three years in a row between 1980 and 1982.

The 2017 Cox Plate was won by Winx who made it her third consecutive Cox Plate win.

2017 Winx $1.15 Hugh Bowman Chris Waller
2016 Winx $1.8F Hugh Bowman Chris Waller
2015 Winx $4.6F Hugh Bowman Chris Waller
2014 Adelaide $8 Ryan Moore Aidan O’Brien
2013 Shamus Award $21 Chad Schofield Danny O’Brien
2012 Ocean Park $6 Glen Boss Gary Hennessy
2011 Pinker Pinker $26 Craig Williams Greg Eurell
2010 So You Think $1.5 Steven Arnold Bart Cummings
2009 So You Think $14 Glen Boss Bart Cummings
2008 Maldivian $11 Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh
2007 El Segundo $7 Luke Nolen Colin Little
Imagine what you could be buying instead.
For free and confidential support call 1800 858 858 or visit