Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Image: Bruno Cannatelli
Champion Winx has again been celebrated as the NSW horse of the year for her final season

Champion Winx has again been celebrated as the NSW horse of the year for her final season during which she was again unbeaten.

The mare has been named the NSW miler and middle distance horse of the year in addition to the top honour at the NSW Racehorse Owners event in Sydney on Thursday.

Her trainer Chris Waller collected the Bart Cummings medal for the ninth time for his outstanding achievements during the 2018/19 season which included the trainers’ premiership.

“Chris Waller has marvelled the world through his extraordinary feat over a number of years keeping Winx – the world’s best racehorse – at the top of her game,” Racing NSW chief executive Peter V’landys said.

“But Chris and his team also train and care for hundreds of other horses on a daily basis and they must be congratulated for their professionalism and extreme dedication to our sport.”

Waller also collected the TJ Smith Award for Sydney’s leading trainer, finishing the 2018/19 season with 172 winners.

James McDonald claimed his third George Moore Award for winning the Sydney jockeys’ premiership with 104 wins for the season while Robbie Dolan took out the Theo Green Award for leading Sydney apprentice with 48 wins.

NSW Racehorse Owners award winners:

Horse of the year: Winx

Middle distance: Winx

Miler: Winx

2YO: Kiamichi

3YO: The Autumn Sun

Sprinter: Osborne Bulls

Stayer: Shraaoh

Provincial: Angel of Truth

Country: Eckstein

Queen of the Autumn: Dixie Blossoms

Other awards:

NSW Racing Writers’ Personality of the Year: Nini Vascotto

“Nini is a wonderful ambassador for Sydney racing, both in her role with the Australian Turf Club and her prolific social media presence, where she promotes the sport to a wider audience. She presents racing in a positive light despite having to deal with her own quite significant health issues. Nini is an extraordinarily brave woman and an inspiration to many,” Daily Telegraph racing editor Ray Thomas said.

Trainer John O’Shea nominated and paid tribute to Alexandra Maher who is the Sydney Strapper of the Year and an essential part of the O’shea stable.

“Alex is held in high regard by her peers and senior staff. She goes above and beyond her duties to ensure the stable runs smoothly and efficiently; this means starting before anyone else at 3:30am and being the last to leave after every shift,” he said.

“Alex is an integral part of the team and is first point of contact to coordinate vets, physios, truck drivers, feed deliveries, drive our own truck on raceday as well as saddling up duties and staff rostering. Alex is the foundation of the stable and a real favourite.”

*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Tags: ,
Featured News

Southern France takes out the Zipping Classic

A late decision to run Southern France in the Zipping Classic has been rewarded, with the import racing away with...

Trainer in heated clash with RV stewards

Racing Victoria stewards have adjourned an inquiry over trainer Peter Gelagotis’ alleged conduct towards a veterinary official at Sandown. Gelagotis...

Stephen Baster lands a winner and fine with final ride

A narrow victory in the Group Three Sandown Stakes on Gold Fields has given jockey Stephen Baster a memorable finish...

Savatiano races to an easy win in $1m The Hunter

A rev-up from Godolphin assistant trainer Darren Beadman was all the impetus James McDonald needed to turn in a faultless...

Pretty Brazen wins the Sandown Guineas

Pretty Brazen will be given the opportunity to tackle the top autumn three-year-olds after a courageous victory in the Sandown...

Luckless Melbourne Cup horse sold

The luckless Melbourne Cup runner Il Paradiso will remain in Australia after local interests bought a majority share in the...

Railway Stakes

The Railway Stakes is a Group One race held at Ascot Racecourse each year over 1600m and is known to be Western...

Ballarat Cup

The is a race held at in Victoria each year. The () boasts a total prize pool of and is...

The Gong

The Gong is a new race introduced by Racing NSW which will be raced at Kembla Grange at the end...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Free List of the Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.