Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

Champion jockey Roy Higgins has been immortalised with a bronze statue at Flemington.

The 11-time Victorian premiership winner who died in March last year, joined other racing legends – Bart Cummings, Phar Lap and Makybe Diva – to be honoured with bronze statues at the course.

The statue was unveiled by Victoria’s Minister for Racing, Martin Pakula, on Sunday.

Despite a career-long battle with his weight, Higgins rode 2312 winners, including 108 at Group One level.

He is one of only seven jockeys to win the big four on the Australian calendar – the Melbourne Cup, the Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and Golden Slipper.

Besides his two Melbourne Cups – on Light Fingers and Red Handed for trainer Bart Cummings – Higgins won a string of other feature races at Flemington including five VRC Oaks and four Victoria Derbys.

And at the VRC’s 1972 autumn carnival, Higgins rode 12 winners at the three-day meeting, including five on one day.

Higgins was made a Member of the British Empire in 1976, entered the Australian Sport Hall of Fame in 1987 and was an inaugural inductee to the Australian Racing Hall of Fame in 2001.

VRC Chairman Michael Burn said Higgins was remembered for much more than his feats on the racetrack.

“Undoubtedly Roy was one of the greatest jockeys we’ve seen, but he was just as remarkable for his contribution to racing after retirement and the way he connected with people of all walks of life,” Burn said.

*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Cox Plate results and replay – 2020

View the results and replay for the 2020 Cox Plate. The Cox Plate was raced at Moonee Valley racecourse on...

Bossy thinks Sir Dragonet can win the Melbourne Cup

So what happens now? Will Hughie Bowman, who was booked to ride SIR DRAGONET (Camelot-Sparrow) in the Gr 1 Cox...

Punter turns $60 racing multi into $282,861

After waiting for seven weeks, one TAB punter has celebrated today’s racing at Randwick and Caulfield after collecting $282,861.60 from...

Classique Legend lost to Hong Kong

In a bittersweet postscript to The Everest, Classique Legend’s owner Bon Ho has confirmed the horse will head overseas. While...

Verry Elleegant gives Chris Waller his first Caulfield Cup

Australia’s premier trainer Chris Waller and jockey Mark Zahra landed their first Caulfield Cup wins when outstanding five-year-old Verry Elleegant...

Watch 📺 Swooping magpie gets KO’d

At Doomben this afternoon one of the most bizarre things we have seen on the race track happened. A magpie...

Watch 📺 ‘Dickhead’ golfers in a near miss at Ellerslie

A pair of golfers have had been left red-faced after narrowly avoiding being trampled during the Great Northern Steeplechase (6400m)...

Champion mare Winx loses foal

Champion mare Winx has tragically lost her first foal, a filly by super sire I Am Invincible. Trainer Chris Waller...

Cox Plate

The Cox Plate is a prestigious Group 1 race for three year old horses and above. Held under weight for...

Manikato Stakes

The Manikato Stakes is a Group l sprint race and is the one of the premier races of the Spring...

Melbourne Cup

The Melbourne Cup always approaches fast, with the 2020 edition commencing at 3pm, Tuesday 3rd November. The race that stops...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2020 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.