Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Price Boosts, Racing Backups, Fluc Up!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Odds Boosts, Racing Offers, Massive MULTIS!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Image: AAP
One race to elude Frankie Dettori has been the Melbourne Cup

Frankie Dettori is famous for his exuberant personality and the controversies that have dotted his career, but mostly he is known for his riding skills.

This year Dettori has won 18 Group One races thanks in no small part to trainer John Gosden and his stable including stars Enable and Stradivarius.

One race to elude him is the Melbourne Cup and he will be back on Tuesday to try for the 17th, and possibly last, time.

The 48-year-old rides Master Of Reality for Australian owner Lloyd Williams who has a record six Cups.

The horse’s young trainer Joseph O’Brien already has one, the Williams-owned Rekindling two years ago.

The closest Dettori has come in the Cup is second – twice.

The first time was in 1999 when Godolphin’s Central Park was overhauled by the Bart Cummings-trained Rogan Josh.

The second time he finished runner-up it cost him $20,000 and a month out of the saddle when in his desperation to win, he shifted outwards on Max Dynamite causing interference to several runners.

That shift allowed Prince Of Penzance the perfect run and he claimed an historic win for Michelle Payne.


1993 – Drum Taps 9th

1995 – Bullwinkle10th

1997 – Arabian Story6th

1998 – Faithful Son7th

1999 – Central Park2nd

2000 – Lightning Arrow17th

2001 – Marienbard7th

2002 – Pugin18th

2003 – Mamool23rd

2004 – Mamool7th

2006 – Geordieland18th

2010 – Holberg6th

2012 – Cavalryman12th

2015 – Max Dynamite2nd

2016 – Wicklow Brave22nd

2017 – Almandin 12th

*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Southern France takes out the Zipping Classic

A late decision to run Southern France in the Zipping Classic has been rewarded, with the import racing away with...

Trainer in heated clash with RV stewards

Racing Victoria stewards have adjourned an inquiry over trainer Peter Gelagotis’ alleged conduct towards a veterinary official at Sandown. Gelagotis...

Stephen Baster lands a winner and fine with final ride

A narrow victory in the Group Three Sandown Stakes on Gold Fields has given jockey Stephen Baster a memorable finish...

Savatiano races to an easy win in $1m The Hunter

A rev-up from Godolphin assistant trainer Darren Beadman was all the impetus James McDonald needed to turn in a faultless...

Pretty Brazen wins the Sandown Guineas

Pretty Brazen will be given the opportunity to tackle the top autumn three-year-olds after a courageous victory in the Sandown...

Luckless Melbourne Cup horse sold

The luckless Melbourne Cup runner Il Paradiso will remain in Australia after local interests bought a majority share in the...

Railway Stakes

The Railway Stakes is a Group One race held at Ascot Racecourse each year over 1600m and is known to be Western...

Ballarat Cup

The is a race held at in Victoria each year. The () boasts a total prize pool of and is...

The Gong

The Gong is a new race introduced by Racing NSW which will be raced at Kembla Grange at the end...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Free List of the Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.