Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Image: Darren Winningham
Fit For Purpose has given trainer Liam Birchley back-to-back wins in the Listed Tattersall's Mile

A last-minute decision to enter Fit For Purpose has given trainer Liam Birchley back-to-back wins in the Listed Tattersall’s Mile (1600m) at Doomben.

Former Victorian jockey Dale Smith got a boost to his new career in Queensland when Fit For Purpose ($12) finished along the rails to win the last stakes race of the season.

The heavily backed favourite No Annamossity ($2.70) was 1-1/4 lengths back second with a nose to Lordag ($51) in third.

Birchley admitted he had no intention of nominating Fit For Purpose for the race until he heard there might not be many runners.

“But everyone else must have heard the same rumour and thrown in a nominations,” he said.

“It was a near-capacity field but when he drew barrier two I thought he might as well run.”

Birchley won the Tattersall’s Mile last year with Crack Me Up who went on to win the Group Two Villiers at Randwick last December.

“Fit For Purpose is no Crack Me Up but he has always had ability,” Birchley said.

“I really don’t know what we can do with him as I really wasn’t expecting to answer that question.

“I think I have won the Tatt’s Mile four times now but I really wasn’t thinking about going back into the records.”

Smith said he got a run through at the right time.

“He might win something a bit better now,” he added.

Trainer Steve O’Dea put the icing on his best season when Pressway ($4.40) and Tabbing ($5) gave him a winning double.

It confirmed O’Dea would finish seventh on the metropolitan trainers premiership with 31 winners and seventh in the state title with 63 winners.

He has had 72 winners Australia-wide.

*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free List of the Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Horse Racing Big Collects, Bets and Moves – 14/12/2019

Australia’s leading bookmaker the TAB gives an overview of today’s betting markets from the feature races and race meetings from around the...

Robbie Griffiths makes a triumphant return to the racetrack

Four months after undergoing brain surgery for an aneurysm, popular trainer Robbie Griffiths has made a triumphant return to the...

High-profile racehorse owner faces life in prison

High-profile racehorse owner and accused drug smuggler Damion Flower will spend Christmas behind bars as he faces the prospect of...

Watch: Jockey borrows another jockeys whip mid-race

In one of the most unusual occurrences we have seen during a race a jockey has borrowed another jockeys whip...

Owner banned over death of horse

An owner has received a 21 month ban from ownership following the body condition and subsequent death of a horse....

Star SA jockey may not ride again

Star South Australian jockey Raquel Clark is unsure if she will be allowed to get back into the saddle following...

Australian G1 winner dies in Hong Kong

Victoria Derby winner Extra Brut has died in Hong Kong after being injured in an accident on a walking machine....

Champion mare Winx to be a mum

The owners of champion Winx are expected to confirm she is successfully in-foal to super sire I Am Invincible in...

Photographer hit by runaway horse

Watch: Photographer hit by runaway horse

A photographer has been taken to hospital after a horse broke through the running rail at an Irish meeting overnight....

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.