$600 in Bonus Bets
Get your first bet matched with up to $600 in bonuses*
$500 Bonus Bet
Sign-up, deposit $500 & receive $500 in bonus bets. That's $1000 to bet with!*
$500 Matched Deposit
Sign-up and get your first deposit matched with up to $500 in bonus bets*
$500 in Bonus Bets
Sign-up and get your first bet matched with up to $500 in bonus bets*
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly


Group One, $1 million, 1200m, weight-for-age


* First run in 1960 and won by Karina. Group One since 1979.

* Held on Victoria Derby day until 2007 when it was switched to the final day of the Melbourne Cup carnival.

* Black Caviar won by four lengths in 2010, her first Group One. It was Ben Melham’s first and only ride on the champion mare.

* Notable winners: Vain (1969), Century (1973), Special (1988), Takeover Target (2004), Miss Andretti (2007), Black Caviar (2010, 2011) and Buffering in 2013.


* The vintage crop of three-year-old sprinting colts including Astern, Extreme Choice and Star Turn opted to race against their own age group in the Group One Coolmore Stud Stakes won by Flying Artie.

* Golden Slipper winner Capitalist was scratched from the Coolmore after suffering a stone bruise and has not recovered in time for Saturday’s race.

* Exciting Sydney sprinter Spieth won down the Flemington straight in June before returning to impressively win the Listed Lightning at Randwick on October 15.

* Can Lankan Rupee recapture the form which made him Australian racehorse of the year in 2013-14?

* Three of the past four Darley Classic winners’ lead-up race was the Manikato Stakes – Mental (2012), Buffering (2013) and Terravista (2014).

* Fell Swoop (2nd), Japonisme (3rd), The Quarterback (4th), English (equal 7th) and Holler (last) come out of the Manikato.

* Six mares have won since 1988 with Black Caviar the most recent. Two mares will run on Saturday – English and Sheidel.


* Last-start winner Our Boy Malachi is favourite after being supported from $6.50 into $4.60.

* Robbie Griffiths-trained Group One winner The Quarterback has been supported from $7.50 to $5.50 and shares favouritism with Canberra sprinter Fell Swoop has drifted to $6.50.

* If Lankan Rupee jumps at his current quote of $7, it will be his biggest starting price since he won the 2013 Kevin Heffernan Stakes paying $13.

* Schillaci Stakes runner-up Malaguerra has been backed from $13 to $8.50 during the week.


“I think the straight will suit him, albeit he’s never seen it and there’s always that question mark on it going there for the first time.” – Fell Swoop’s trainer Matthew Dale.

“Not at one stage did I think ‘I can’t wait to get down and run in that Darley Classic’ but that was definitely my long-range plan if he could do what he’s been doing.” – Trainer Bryce Heys on Spieth.

” I think he’s his old vibrant self and the only thing that may compromise him is that tough, hard race fitness.” – Trainer Mick Price on Lankan Rupee.

Deposit $50, Bet with $250
Sign-up, deposit $50 & receive $200 in bonus bets. That's $250 to bet with!*
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
  • DEPOSIT $500
    start betting
  • first bet
    up to
  • DEPOSIT $50
    start betting
  • first bet
    up to
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly
Featured News

Over $5,000 in Bonus Free Bets

Just Horse Racing provides readers with the best Free Bet offers available at every online bookmaker in Australia during the...

Big Bets – 23/6/2018

We take a look at the big bets theĀ online bookmakersĀ have taken on the weekendsĀ horse racing around the country with most...

Single Gaze in work with Chris Waller

Premier Sydney trainer Chris Waller admits to being as surprised as anyone to learn Single Gaze would be joining his...

Harness horse ends up in a lake

A trots horse overnight in France has somehow ended up in a lake in the middle of the racecourse in...

Robert Smerdon appeals lifetime ban

Disqualified trainers Robert Smerdon and Stuart Webb have lodged appeals against their bans with the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal....

Copyright © 2018 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved.

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.