Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

A who’s who of Australian sprinters feature among the nominations for the Newmarket Handicap.

Nominations for three feature races at Flemington in March were taken on Monday with the Newmarket attracting 70 nominations.

The Australian Cup has 55 entries while 110 three-year-olds are in the mix for the Australian Guineas.

Dual Group One winner Chautauqua is one of the headline nominations for the $1.25 million Newmarket (1200m) along with his Darley Classic conquerors from the past two years – 2015 winner Delectation and 2014 winner Terravista.

Chautauqua was Australia’s equal highest-rated sprinter for 2015 alongside Lankan Rupee who is sidelined until the spring because of injury.

Brilliant colt Exosphere, who impressed in a Sydney barrier trial on Monday, is one of 26 three-year-olds in the Newmarket along with his Australia Stakes-winning stablemate Holler, the Chris Waller-trained Coolmore Stud Stakes winner Japonisme and Caulfield Guineas winner Press Statement.

The training partnership of David Hayes and Tom Dabernig sent out the first two across the line in the 2015 Australian Cup and have 12 horses nominated this year.

The Mick Price-trained Victoria Derby winner Tarzino is one of 14 three-year-olds in the Australian Cup entries while Godolphin trainer John O’Shea has nominated five horses – Magic Hurricane, Hartnell, Bow Creek, Hauraki and Arab Dawn.

The Australian Guineas is on March 5 with the Newmarket and Australian Cup a week later.

Weights for the Newmarket are released on March 1.

*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Cox Plate results and replay – 2020

View the results and replay for the 2020 Cox Plate. The Cox Plate was raced at Moonee Valley racecourse on...

Bossy thinks Sir Dragonet can win the Melbourne Cup

So what happens now? Will Hughie Bowman, who was booked to ride SIR DRAGONET (Camelot-Sparrow) in the Gr 1 Cox...

Punter turns $60 racing multi into $282,861

After waiting for seven weeks, one TAB punter has celebrated today’s racing at Randwick and Caulfield after collecting $282,861.60 from...

Classique Legend lost to Hong Kong

In a bittersweet postscript to The Everest, Classique Legend’s owner Bon Ho has confirmed the horse will head overseas. While...

Verry Elleegant gives Chris Waller his first Caulfield Cup

Australia’s premier trainer Chris Waller and jockey Mark Zahra landed their first Caulfield Cup wins when outstanding five-year-old Verry Elleegant...

Watch 📺 Swooping magpie gets KO’d

At Doomben this afternoon one of the most bizarre things we have seen on the race track happened. A magpie...

Watch 📺 ‘Dickhead’ golfers in a near miss at Ellerslie

A pair of golfers have had been left red-faced after narrowly avoiding being trampled during the Great Northern Steeplechase (6400m)...

Champion mare Winx loses foal

Champion mare Winx has tragically lost her first foal, a filly by super sire I Am Invincible. Trainer Chris Waller...

Cox Plate

The Cox Plate is a prestigious Group 1 race for three year old horses and above. Held under weight for...

Manikato Stakes

The Manikato Stakes is a Group l sprint race and is the one of the premier races of the Spring...

Melbourne Cup

The Melbourne Cup always approaches fast, with the 2020 edition commencing at 3pm, Tuesday 3rd November. The race that stops...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2020 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.