Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Back A Winner with Neds!
Sign-up and start betting with Neds in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
Massive Odds on All Races!
Sign-up and start betting with PlayUp in 2 minutes!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

Melbourne Cup Horses

The Final Field for the 2022 Melbourne Cup has not been released with the Field to be announced on Derby Day night which is the 29th of November at around 6pm. Once the Final Field is released we will go through each of the horses in the race and give an in depth look and preview of their chances.

The final field may not be officially determined until a few days before the Melbourne Cup but connections of those in the mix generally will have their fate decided in the weeks leading up to the 3200m race.

More: View the latest news on the Melbourne Cup 2022

Melbourne Cup Final Field

The final field for the 2022 Melbourne Cup will be announced on October 29th and will be added below shortly after.

There will also be an order of entry made available in the lead up to the 2022 Melbourne Cup which will detail which horses are likely to gain a start in the event.

The final field for the Melbourne Cup will have a capacity of 24 runners.

Historic Melbourne Cup horses

Every Melbourne Cup winner will forever be recognised as a champion in the races long history some have stood above the rest.

Makybe Diva is a prime example of this having won three consecutive Melbourne Cups in 2003, 2004 and 2005.

Australia’s most famous racehorse Phar Lap won the race in 1930 after finishing third the year beforehand. In 1931 the champion was forced to carry 68kg in the Cup and subsequently finished in 8th position.

Multiple Melbourne Cup Winners

During the long history of the Melbourne Cup there have only been a handful of runners who have won the Cup on more than once occasion.

Winner Years Won
Makybe Diva 2003, 2004, 2005
Think Big 1974, 1975
Rain Lover 1968, 1969
Peter Pan 1932, 1934
Archer 1861, 1862

Makybe Diva in the Melbourne Cup

Makybe Diva is the most successful horse in the history of the Melbourne Cup having won the race on 3 consecutive occasions.

Many believe that no horse will ever match the achievement again and given how only a handful have won the race twice it’s likely that no horse will accomplish the feat in this lifetime.

Glen Boss was fortunate enough to ride the champion in each of her 3 Melbourne Cup wins.

When is the Melbourne Cup field finalised?

The 2022 Melbourne Cup field will be announced on Victoria Derby Day night which is the 29th of November at around 6pm.

How many horses are in the Melbourne Cup?

The Melbourne Cup field is made up of 24 horses with no emergencies.

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.
18+ Don't let the game play you. Stay in control. Gamble responsibly. Think! About your choices. Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit or