Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

The Golden Slipper Stakes is one of the most prestigious horse races in Australia, and the richest race for two year olds in the entire world. This event has been run at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in Sydney since 1957, and has been won by some of the countries greatest horses. A number of interesting facts surround the Golden Slipper, which this year is being run on Saturday the 6th of April, 2013.

– The inaugural race was won by Todman in 1957 over a distance of eight lengths.

– Throughout its history, the Golden Slipper has been won by 24 colts and 23 fillies.

– Sixteen favourites have won the Golden Slipper since the beginning, with Sebring being the latest in 2008.

– Star Kingdom progeny won the first five Golden Slipper trophies, Todman in 1957, Skyline in 1958, Fine And Dandy in 1959, Sky High in 1960, and Magic Night in 1961.

– The Golden Slipper was run over a distance of 6 furlongs until 1973 when it became a 1200 metre event.

– This event graduated from a Principal race to a Group 1 race in 1980, with Dark Eclipse winning this year.

– Two jockeys have managed to win the Golden Slipper four years running, Shane Dye between 1989 and 1992 and R. Quinton between 1982 and 1987.

– Two trainers have managed to win six Golden Slipper trophies each, Bart Cummings and the late Tommy Smith.

– Tommy Smith is the only person to have owned, bred, and trained a Golden Slipper winner with Bounding Away in 1986.

– Gai Waterhouse, Smith’s daughter, became the first woman to win this race in 2001, also managing to win the trifecta with Ha Ha in first, Excellerator in second, and Red Hannigan in third.

– Barrier one is the most successful barrier in Golden Slipper history with eight wins, followed by barrier three with six wins, and barriers four, eight, and ten with five wins each.

Copyright © 2021 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.
18+ Don't let the game play you. Stay in control. Gamble responsibly. Think! About your choices. Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit or