Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Price Boosts, Racing Backups, Fluc Up!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Odds Boosts, Racing Offers, Massive MULTIS!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

The Victoria Derby is one of the oldest horse races in Australia, with a history that stretches back to 1855.  This classic Group 1 race is held at Flemington Racecourse as part of the Melbourne spring racing carnival, on the first day in the lead up to the prestigious Melbourne Cup.  Held under set weight conditions, the Victoria Derby is held on the same day as other Group 1 races;  the Myer Classic, the Mackinnon Stakes, and the Coolmore Stud Stakes.

Special Offer: $500 FREE BET – Luxbet (Tabcorp owned)

Special Offer 2: $400 FREE BET – Bookmaker (Australian Owned)

Special Offer 3: $500 FREE BET – Sportsbet (Recommended Bookmaker)

The Victoria Derby is worth a total of $1,500,000 in prize money, which is one of the reasons it always manages to attract a high quality field.  The field is limited to 16 horses for this historic race, with the Group 2 AAMI Vase at Moonee Valley being one of the important lead up events.  With a history that goes back so far, the Victoria Derby has seen lots of notable horses over the line throughout the years.

Phar Lap won the Victoria Derby in 1929, and was noted as the greatest derby winner of all time.  However, a number of other famous horses have also won this event, including Fireworks who won this race twice in 1867 and 1868, Poseidon in 1906, Tulloch in 1957, and Efficient in 2006.  The Victoria Derby was originally run at the traditional Derby length of 2400 metres, changing to 2500 metres in 1973.  This race was also directly promoted to Group 1 event in 1979, with Big Print being the first Group 1 winner.

The 2011 Victoria Derby was won by Sangster, who was trapped early but gained control in the final stages ahead of Induna in second position and Sabrage in third.

2011 Victoria Derby Result

1. Sangster

2. Induna

3. Sabrage

4. Zabeelionaire

5. Isopach

6. Manawanui

7. I Feel Good

8. Scelto

9. Costly Commitment

10. Eagle Command

11. Mr Chez

12. Cornell

13. Niagara

14. Rapidus

15. Perfect Punch

16. Collar




Past Results



Year     Winner                        Status              Distance


2011     Sangster                      Group 1            2500m

2010     Lion Tamer                   Group 1            2500m

2009     Monaco Consul                        Group 1            2500m

2008     Rebel Raider                Group 1            2500m

2007     Kibbutz                        Group 1            2500m

2006     Efficient                       Group 1            2500m

2005     Benicio                                    Group 1            2500m

2004     Plastered                     Group 1            2500m

2003     Elvstroem                    Group 1            2500m

2002     Helenus                        Group 1            2500m

2001     Amalfi                          Group 1            2500m

2000     Hit The Roof                 Group 1            2500m

1999     Blackfriars                    Group 1            2500m

1998     Arena                           Group 1            2500m

1997     Second Coming           Group 1            2500m

1996     Portland Player                        Group 1            2500m

1995     Nothin’ Leica Dane        Group 1            2500m

1994     Blevic                          Group 1            2500m

1993     Mahogany                    Group 1            2500m

1992     Redding                       Group 1            2500m

1991     Star Of The Realm        Group 1            2500m

1990     Fire Oak                       Group 1            2500m

1989     Stylish Century                         Group 1            2500m

1988     King’s High                  Group 1            2500m

1987     Omnicorp                     Group 1            2500m

1986     Raveneaux                   Group 1            2500m

1985     Handy Proverb                         Group 1            2500m

1984     Red Anchor                  Group 1            2500m

1983     Bounty Hawk                Group 1            2400m

1982     Grosvenor                    Group 1            2500m

1981     Brewery Boy                 Group 1            2500m

1980     Sovereign Red             Group 1            2500m

1979     Big Print                       Group 1            2500m


Featured News

Free List of the Best Racing Bets and Bonus Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Finche races into 2019 Melbourne Cup favouritism

A horse racing in the colours made famous by Frankel and Enable is now the equal Melbourne Cup favourite following...

Begood Toya Mother wins the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Begood Toya Mother has delivered on a long-range plan in the Group One Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes at Caulfield in...

Avilius too good in G1 George Main Stakes

Avilius has reaffirmed his status as one of the country’s premier weight-for-age stars and put himself back in the Cox...

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes results and replay – 2019

View the results and replay for the 2019 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes was raced at...

George Main Stakes results and replay – 2019

View the results and replay for the 2019 George Main Stakes (Optic White Stakes). The George Main Stakes (Optic White...

Brimham Rocks wins a spot in the Caulfield Cup

The Chris Waller-trained Brimham Rocks has earned a ticket into the Caulfield Cup with his first Australian victory in the...

Female jockey banned on drug charge

Queensland jockey Tiffani Brooker has been disqualified for nine months after a recent urine test showed traces of a number...

Mystic Journey’s trainer inundated with derogatory messages

Mystic Journey’s trainer Adam Trinder has spoken out about the derogatory calls, emails and text messages he has received after...

Taylor Swift scratched from Melbourne Cup day

International singing superstar Taylor Swift will no longer perform at Flemington on Melbourne Cup day following a change to her...

Failed drug test cover up rocks US horse racing

A cover up of a failed drug test has this morning rocked the US horse racing industry. The New York...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.