Watch Live Racing FREE!
Sign-up now and Watch every Race Live and Free on your Phone!
Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Price Boosts, Racing Backups, Fluc Up!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Odds Boosts, Racing Offers, Massive MULTIS!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

Some facts about the Group One $400,000 Champagne Stakes (1600m) to be run at Randwick on Saturday.

* Set weights and the final leg of the two-year-old triple crown after the Golden Slipper Stakes and AJC Sires’ Produce Stakes.

* First run over seven furlongs (1400m) in 1866 when won by Fishhook.

* From 1867 to 1880 and again in 1882 run over five furlongs (1000m).

* From 1881 until 1971 (except for 1882) run over six furlongs (1200).

* Held over 1600m since 1972.

* Outstanding gallopers to have won the race include Furious (1921), Heroic (1924), Manfred (1925), Hall Mark (1933), Ajax (1937), Todman (1957), Wiggle (1958), Noholme (1959), Sky High (1960), Time And Tide (1963), Storm Queen (1966), Vain (1969), Baguette (1970), Luskin Star (1977), Red Anchor (1984), Bounding Away (1986), Triscay (1990), Victory Vein (2002), Dance Hero (2004), Samantha Miss (2008).

* Youngsters who have claimed the juvenile triple crown: Dance Hero (2004), Burst (1992), Tierce (1991), Luskin Star (1977), Baguette (1970).

* Previously successful trainers with runners this year: Peter Snowden – Helmet, Disputes (Skilled 2010); Bart Cummings – Salade (Storm Queen 1966, Vivarchi 1976, Sky Chase 1987, Full And By 1988); Kris Lees – Uate (Samantha Miss 2008); Jason Coyle – Muhaajir (Onemorenomore 2009).

* Jockeys who have won the race before with a mount on Saturday: Hugh Bowman – Salade (Samantha Miss 2008); Nash Rawiller – Uate (Meurice 2007); Glen Boss – Running Tall (Intergaze 1996); Damien Oliver – Muhaajir (Quick Star 1999); Josh Parr – Disputes (Skilled 2010).


Featured News

Free List of the Best Racing Bets and Bonus Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Stable lose a mate in Flemington death

Trainer Jason Warren has posted a heart felt message on Twitter regarding the death of Antah at Flemington on Saturday...

Trainer questioned over blow-out Makybe Diva Stakes win

Trainer of Makybe Diva Stakes winner Gatting has been questioned over the horses improvement after upstaging Cox Plate favourite Mystic...

G1 winning jockey Nikita Beriman retires

G1 winning jockey Nikita Beriman has announced her retirement. The TAB National Jockeys Trust luncheon provided a significant revelation to...

Gatting blows out Mystic Journey in Makybe Diva Stakes

Flemington racecourse fell silent as Perth visitor Gatting upset the favourite Mystic Journey to win the Group One Makybe Diva...

Makybe Diva Stakes results and replay – 2019

View the results and replay for the 2019 Makybe Diva Stakes. The Makybe Diva Stakes was raced at Flemington racecourse...

Comparing Mystic Journey to Winx is disrespectful

With the retirement of champion Winx, racegoers are looking for the next pin-up horse. After seven wins in succession for...

Failed drug test cover up rocks US horse racing

A cover up of a failed drug test has this morning rocked the US horse racing industry. The New York...

Kathy O’Hara hit with massive suspension

Kathy O’Hara has appealed a hefty suspension for frequent use of her mobile phone in the jockeys’ room with the...

Hugh Bowman to have surgery on hand

Champion jockey Hugh Bowman has suffered a broken finger this morning which will require surgery. Bowman came off during routine...

Watch: Horse bites winning jockey

There were some bizarre scenes in France overnight with a winning jockey being bitten mid-race by a rival horse. In...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2019 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.