Best Odds with Top Tote+ and Bet Back Offers!
Register at Australia's #1 Online Bookmaker!
Back A Winner!
Sign-Up to Australia's Fastest Growing Online Bookmaker!
Back Yourself!
Sign-up and start betting with Ladbrokes in 2 minutes!
Best Of The Best Odds!
Bet With Palmerbet and get Paid Top Fluc or Top Tote!
*Conditions Apply. Excl VIC, NSW, SA & WA. Gamble Responsibly

Some facts about the Group One $1.5 million AJC Australian Derby (2400m) to be run at Randwick on Saturday.

* First run in 1861 and won by Kyogle, the Derby is firmly established as the number one three-year-old Classic in the country.

* Notable past winners include Grand Flaneur (1880), Poseidon (1906), Prince Foote (1909), Gloaming (1918), Heroic (1924), Phar Lap (1929), Peter Pan (1932), Hall Mark (1933), Tea Rose (1944), Carbon Copy (1948), Tulloch (1957), Silver Sharpe (1970), Classic Mission (1971), Imagele (1973), Dulcify (1979), Kingston Town (1980), Strawberry Road (1983), Bonecrusher (1986), Beau Zam (1988), Research (1989), Naturalism (1992), Mahogany (1994), Octagonal (1996), Starcraft (2004) and Eremein (2005).

* Only eight fillies have won in the Derby’s 149-year history: Clove (1865), Florence (1870), Nellie (1879), Picture (1898), Tea Rose (1944), Rose Of Kingston (1982), Tristarc (1985) and Research (1989).

* Australian Guineas winner Shamrocker is the only filly in this year’s event.

* The 1895 victor Bob Ray was the first gelding to win the Derby.

* The late TJ Smith holds training honours with nine winners: Playboy (1949), Tulloch (1957), Summer Prince (1962), Summer Fiesta (1963), Prince Grant (1965), Silver Sharpe (1970), Imagele (1973), Great Lover (1976) and the mighty Kingston Town (1980).

* Champion jockey Tommy Hales holds the record for riding the most winners: Richmond (1875), Grand Flaneur (1880), Navigator (1882), Bargo (1884), Trident (1886) and Abercorn (1887).

* Other jockeys to have greeted the judge more than once include Darby Munro (five), George Moore (five) and in more recent times Mick Dittman and Darren Beadman with three.

* This year marks the 50th anniversary of arguably the most famous AJC Derby. The 1961 Derby was the scene of the infamous “leg-pull” incident. On that occasion, Mel Schumacher, who was first past the post on Blue Era, pulled the leg of rival jockey Tommy Hill on Summer Fair. Unfortunately for Schumacher it was the first time the head-on camera was utilised and he was caught red-handed. This led to Hill’s protest being upheld and Schumacher being disqualified for life, later reduced to six years.

* Trainers with runners this year who have won the race before: Bart Cummings – I Think I Do (Roman Emperor 2009, Ivory’s Irish 1995, Beau Zam 1988, Prolific 1984, Belmura Lad 1977); John Hawkes won with Octagonal (1996), Headturner (2006) and Fiumicino (2007) before he started training in partnership with his sons Michael and Wayne. They will be represented by Shadowofexcellence on Saturday.

* Jockeys with a ride on Saturday who have won the race before: Corey Brown – Praecido (Eremein 2005); Glen Boss – Shamrocker (Starcraft 2004; Sky Heights 1999).


*Existing customers only. 2nd Racing bet. Excl SA & WA. T’s & C’s apply. Gamble responsibly.
Featured News

Free Racing Bonus Bets and Offers

We take a look at the BIGGEST and BEST Free Daily Racing Offers and Betting Promotions from Australia’s leading online...

Cox Plate results and replay – 2020

View the results and replay for the 2020 Cox Plate. The Cox Plate was raced at Moonee Valley racecourse on...

Bossy thinks Sir Dragonet can win the Melbourne Cup

So what happens now? Will Hughie Bowman, who was booked to ride SIR DRAGONET (Camelot-Sparrow) in the Gr 1 Cox...

Punter turns $60 racing multi into $282,861

After waiting for seven weeks, one TAB punter has celebrated today’s racing at Randwick and Caulfield after collecting $282,861.60 from...

Classique Legend lost to Hong Kong

In a bittersweet postscript to The Everest, Classique Legend’s owner Bon Ho has confirmed the horse will head overseas. While...

Verry Elleegant gives Chris Waller his first Caulfield Cup

Australia’s premier trainer Chris Waller and jockey Mark Zahra landed their first Caulfield Cup wins when outstanding five-year-old Verry Elleegant...

Watch 📺 Swooping magpie gets KO’d

At Doomben this afternoon one of the most bizarre things we have seen on the race track happened. A magpie...

Watch 📺 ‘Dickhead’ golfers in a near miss at Ellerslie

A pair of golfers have had been left red-faced after narrowly avoiding being trampled during the Great Northern Steeplechase (6400m)...

Champion mare Winx loses foal

Champion mare Winx has tragically lost her first foal, a filly by super sire I Am Invincible. Trainer Chris Waller...

Cox Plate

The Cox Plate is a prestigious Group 1 race for three year old horses and above. Held under weight for...

Manikato Stakes

The Manikato Stakes is a Group l sprint race and is the one of the premier races of the Spring...

Melbourne Cup

The Melbourne Cup always approaches fast, with the 2020 edition commencing at 3pm, Tuesday 3rd November. The race that stops...

Australian Bookmaker Reviews

Which bookmaker should you bet with? We Review each of the leading online Australian Bookmakers and rate them in order...

Copyright © 2020 Just Horse Racing.
All rights reserved - Privacy Policy

Gamble Responsibly 18+
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.