Wagga Race Six
It's A Virtue
Bet Amount
Win Amount

The Sebring Sprint, also known as the Theo Marks Stakes, takes place on Saturday September 15, 2012 at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.  This Group 2 event has a long and rich history in Australian racing, with the first race taking place in 1946.  This 1300 metre race is for horses three years and older, with a maximum weight of 61 kg allowed.

Special Offer: $500 Theo Marks Stakes Free Bet – Luxbet (Tabcorp owned)

Special Offer 2: $300 Theo Marks Stakes Free Bet – (Australian Owned)

The Sebring Sprint or Theo Marks Stakes is a good indicator of races such as the Group 2 Shannon Stakes and the Group 1 Epsom Handicap.  Racing To Win won the Theo Marks/Epsom double in 2006, with Rock Kingdom (runner-up in 2009) going on to win the Epsom Handicap the same year.

The winner of the inaugural race was Shannon in 1946, way back when the race was run over 7 furlongs.  It was changed to a 1400 metre race in 1973, and elevated to a Group 2 event a few years later in 1979.  Between the years 1985 and 1991 the race was shortened to 1300 metres, and was even run over 1280 metres in 1990 and 1991.

Two of the most well known horses to have won this race are Shogun Lodge in 2001 and dual-winner Racing To Win in 2006 and 2009. Master Of Design defied the odds to beat a top field in 2011, beating Torio’s Quest by half a neck with Fast Clip coming in third.


2011 Sebring Sprint (Theo Marks Stakes) result


1. Master Of Design

2. Torio’s Quest

3. Fast Clip

4. Pinwheel

5. Foreteller

6. Triple Honour

7. Lone Command

8. Ilovethiscity

9. Voice Commander

10. Pressday

11. Older Than Time

12. Lorne Dancer

13. Bay Window

14. Prince Braeman



Past Results


Year     Winner                        Status              Distance


2011     Master Of Design         Group 2            1300m

2010     More Joyous                Group 2            1300m

2009     Racing To Win              Group 2            1300m

2008     Hurried Choice              Group 2            1300m

2007     Not Held                      Group 2            1300m

2006     Racing To Win              Group 2            1300m

2005     Paratroopers                Group 2            1300m

2004     Falkirk                          Group 2            1300m

2003     Fiery Venture                Group 2            1300m

2002     Defier                          Group 2            1300m

2001     Shogun Lodge             Group 2            1300m

2000     Hire                              Group 2            1300m

1999     Adam                           Group 2            1300m

1998     Pleasure Giver              Group 2            1300m

1997     Catalan Opening           Group 2            1300m

1996     Mamzelle Pedrille          Group 2            1300m

1995     Ivory’s Irish                   Group 2            1300m

1994     Rouslan                       Group 2            1300m

1993     Double Your Bet           Group 2            1300m

1992     Final Card                    Group 2            1300m

1991     Joanne                                    Group 2            1280m

1990     Alquoz                         Group 2            1280m

1989     From The Planet           Group 2            1300m

1988     Targlish                        Group 2            1300m

1987     Groucho                       Group 2            1300m

1986     Zip Home                     Group 2            1300m

1985     Vari’s Ace                    Group 2            1300m

1984     Inspired                        Group 2            1400m

1983     Another Phenomenon   Group 2            1400m

1982     Ksar Royal                   Group 2            1400m

1981     Arbogast                      Group 2            1400m

1980     Silver Wraith                 Group 2            1400m

1979     Scomeld                      Group 2            1400m

1978     Party’s Pride                Principal race    1400m

1977     Blockbuster                  Principal race    1400m

1976     Ease The Squeeze        Principal race    1400m

1975     Summer Fantasy          Principal race    1400m

1974     Purple Patch                Principal race    1400m

1973     I’m Scarlet                    Principal race    1400m

1972     Beaches                       Principal race    7F

1971     Crown Law                   Principal race    7F

1970     Ricochet                      Principal race    7F

1969     Nausori                        Principal race    7F

1968     Gay Gauntlet                Principal race    7F

1967     Cabochon                    Principal race    7F

1966     Time And Tide              Principal race    7F

1965     Time And Tide              Principal race    7F

1964     Game Prince                Principal race    7F

1963     Time And Tide              Principal race    7F

1962     Bush Belle                    Principal race    7F

1961     Martello Towers                        Principal race    7F

1960     French Descent            Principal race    7F

1959     In Love                                    Principal race    7F

1958     Gay Port                      Principal race    7F

1957     Teranyan                      Principal race    7F

1956     French Charm               Principal race    7F

1955     Hans                            Principal race    7F

1954     Sunny Hour                  Principal race    7F

1953     Carioca                        Principal race    7F

1952     Tossing                        Principal race    7F

1951     Bankbrook                   Principal race    7F

1950     Donegal                       Principal race    7F

1949     Hisign                          Principal race    7F

1948     The Groom                   Principal race    7F

1947     Murray Stream              Principal race    7F

1946     Shannon                      Principal race    7F

Ladbrokes Sportingbet Sportsbet Luxbet BetEasy Image Map
RSS Feed
*State exclusions apply to some offers. Please check T&Cs of each offer with the bookmaker.